+

Online College Course

Accounting

Accounting

Sophia’s Accounting course helps you master the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. You will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 30 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Accounting

Course Description
Sophia's Accounting course helps you gain mastery of the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. In this course, you will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. You will use a problem-solving approach to actively apply key concepts of introductory accounting to realistic case studies.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 9 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Identify accounting fundamentals.
  • Analyze financial reporting.
  • Apply principles of accounting for merchandising operations.
  • Analyze advanced accounting topics.

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1062 Student Reviews
Rating
by Kimberly S. on July 7, 2020
UNIT 4 WAS THE TOUGHEST AND TOOK ME THE LONGEST - GOT 3 WRONG ON THE FINAL AND OVERALL 92 IN THE CLASS. YOU CAN DO IT!
Rating
by Tarsha S. on July 7, 2020
After I received tips on how to do the sophia courses, everything worked out great.
Rating
by Lisa M. on July 7, 2020
Very informative course. Some of the milestone questions are presented differently than taught and/or not taught. However, the course very educational.
Rating
by Katrina S. on July 7, 2020
Very straight forward if you are at all familiar with accounting. My only criticism is there are typos sometimes and a few subjects could go into a little more depth. Overall, I'd definitely take another class through Sophia.
Rating
by Oluwatoyin O. on July 7, 2020
I was so scared of taking this course because of calculation but guess what, it was so simple and easy to pass. I am so happy. P.S. it would really be good if the calculations to the answers in the units were provided, instead of just saying incorrectly. Thank you Sophia for the opportunity to take this free course.
Rating
by Kalina M. on July 6, 2020
Thank you for giving us the chance to study for free! I had a great time completing the Accounting course.
Rating
by Chasity C. on July 6, 2020
It was hard and easy at the same time take notes.
Rating
by Kimberly L. on July 6, 2020
Very Informative!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.