Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Accounting

Accounting

Sophia’s Accounting course helps you master the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. You will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 26 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Sophia's Accounting course helps you gain mastery of the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. In this course, you will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. You will use a problem-solving approach to actively apply key concepts of introductory accounting to realistic case studies.

In Sophia's Accounting course, you will complete a series of formative and summative assessments comprised of 9 Challenge assessments and 4 Milestone assessments and tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Identify accounting fundamentals.
  • Analyze financial reporting.
  • Apply principles of accounting for merchandising operations.
  • Analyze advanced accounting topics.

Reviews

Rating
130 Student Reviews
Rating
by Michael L. on July 10, 2018
The course was fine. I didn't have a preferred instructor but they all had similar information so it worked for me. The bad part is the ID verification after you've completed all the milestones. I understand there has to be some type of verification for online courses but after my first ProctorU exam, I felt like I was being arrested or something. The experience was awful, it 45 minutes from the time my milestone was to begin, to actually be able to take the exam because of all the verification. And God forbid if your child or anyone else happens to walk in the room while you're taking it. I can honestly say, if I have to go through all of that to complete every course, I will no longer take any courses through this program.
Rating
by William G. on August 22, 2017
This course was difficult for ones that have no accounting background. I found many of the videos failed to provide insight to several of the questions. Never hope to sit through another course like this one.
Sophia replied on August 22, 2017

Williams - Congratulations on your hard work to complete the course and earn the credits toward your degree. Accounting is a challenging topic for many students, This course includes instruction from multiple instructors, so students get a choice on whom to learn from. Our team is also here to help provide direction and clarification as needed. Congratulations again on your achievement!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Robert T. on February 2, 2018
Overall not bad - some of the questions did not appear to match the lessons (or was incredibly difficult to find in the videos)
Rating
by Christine S. on October 25, 2017
I would have found this course easier if I could just have read a completed transcript for the course then took the milestones. I am someone who does not enjoy learning from videos.
Sophia replied on October 25, 2017

Hi Christine, While we are disappointed that our format wasn't the best fit for you, we congratulate you on your hard work and successful course completion. Thank you for allowing Sophia to be a part of your degree plan.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Tara C. on July 13, 2019
Let me just say I struggled. Accounting, contrary to popular belief, is not about math. It’s about formulas. I survived and finished with an 86. Let me give you my formula for survival...SOPHIA PDFs + colored pens+ Evan’s tutorials= SURVIVAL The final milestone was easier than the unit milestones. Due to the wording of some of the questions, I had to raise issues with SOPHIA since I didn’t see the answer as correct. Some answers I got wrong just because it’s A LOT to try and understand. It took me about 12 hours spread out over 13 days to complete. I’m really grateful for Sophia Pathways!! This is my 7th course and I have 2 more to go. ALWAYS use Sophia PDFs with your favorite tutorial. Make notes. Before I even start, I put the page numbers next to each topic on the first page, makes a world of difference to find things later.
Rating
by Nathan W. on March 25, 2018
This was a challenging course! I felt, though, that it was presented in a detailed and logical manner to make the most sense of the principals of accounting. The case studies were helpful, as were the practice milestones. One thing that would be especially helpful are detailed unit glossaries like many of the other Sophia courses. These are handy resources for me, but I found them lacking or completely missing throughout this course.
Rating
by Edward M. on October 18, 2015
Very good course. Some work could be done to remove some of the ambiguity in the questions though.
Rating
by Sarah W. on July 29, 2017
There seemed to be a disconnect between the concepts taught and the application through the questions. Accounting is a very detailed field and the questions were very detailed but the lectures were very nebulous; often leaving me very confused.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Accounting FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required