Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Accounting

Accounting

Sophia’s Accounting course helps you master the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. You will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 31 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


31 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Accounting

Course Description
Sophia's Accounting course helps you gain mastery of the fundamental principles and procedures of the modern practice of accounting. In this course, you will gain practical experience with bookkeeping and preparing financial reports within the context of operating a sole proprietorship. You will use a problem-solving approach to actively apply key concepts of introductory accounting to realistic case studies.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 9 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Identify accounting fundamentals.
  • Analyze financial reporting.
  • Apply principles of accounting for merchandising operations.
  • Analyze advanced accounting topics.

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1717 Student Reviews
Rating
by Michael L. on July 10, 2018
The course was fine. I didn't have a preferred instructor but they all had similar information so it worked for me. The bad part is the ID verification after you've completed all the milestones. I understand there has to be some type of verification for online courses but after my first ProctorU exam, I felt like I was being arrested or something. The experience was awful, it 45 minutes from the time my milestone was to begin, to actually be able to take the exam because of all the verification. And God forbid if your child or anyone else happens to walk in the room while you're taking it. I can honestly say, if I have to go through all of that to complete every course, I will no longer take any courses through this program.
Rating
by Tara C. on July 13, 2019
Let me just say I struggled. Accounting, contrary to popular belief, is not about math. It’s about formulas. I survived and finished with an 86. Let me give you my formula for survival...SOPHIA PDFs + colored pens+ Evan’s tutorials= SURVIVAL The final milestone was easier than the unit milestones. Due to the wording of some of the questions, I had to raise issues with SOPHIA since I didn’t see the answer as correct. Some answers I got wrong just because it’s A LOT to try and understand. It took me about 12 hours spread out over 13 days to complete. I’m really grateful for Sophia Pathways!! This is my 7th course and I have 2 more to go. ALWAYS use Sophia PDFs with your favorite tutorial. Make notes. Before I even start, I put the page numbers next to each topic on the first page, makes a world of difference to find things later.
Rating
by William G. on August 22, 2017
This course was difficult for ones that have no accounting background. I found many of the videos failed to provide insight to several of the questions. Never hope to sit through another course like this one.
Sophia replied on August 22, 2017

Williams - Congratulations on your hard work to complete the course and earn the credits toward your degree. Accounting is a challenging topic for many students, This course includes instruction from multiple instructors, so students get a choice on whom to learn from. Our team is also here to help provide direction and clarification as needed. Congratulations again on your achievement!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Sarah W. on July 29, 2017
There seemed to be a disconnect between the concepts taught and the application through the questions. Accounting is a very detailed field and the questions were very detailed but the lectures were very nebulous; often leaving me very confused.
Rating
by Robert T. on February 2, 2018
Overall not bad - some of the questions did not appear to match the lessons (or was incredibly difficult to find in the videos)
Rating
by Nathan W. on March 25, 2018
This was a challenging course! I felt, though, that it was presented in a detailed and logical manner to make the most sense of the principals of accounting. The case studies were helpful, as were the practice milestones. One thing that would be especially helpful are detailed unit glossaries like many of the other Sophia courses. These are handy resources for me, but I found them lacking or completely missing throughout this course.
Rating
by Edward M. on October 18, 2015
Very good course. Some work could be done to remove some of the ambiguity in the questions though.
Rating
by Lisa M. on September 18, 2017
There were some areas where information conflicted, making it challenging to understand concepts. I submitted questions and comments about those areas.
Sophia replied on September 18, 2017

Hi Lisa - we appreciate the questions and feedback you submitted to us during the course. Our team strives to provide quick and helpful guidance to students when questions arise. Thank you for studying with Sophia. We hope to see you in a future course.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Accounting FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required