Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Art History I

Art History I

Sophia's Art History I course helps you master fundamentals of art history from prehistoric times to the Renaissance. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 34 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


34 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Art History I

Course Description
Sophia's Art History I course helps you master fundamentals of art history from prehistoric times to the Renaissance. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe the basics of art history
  • Recognize movements that have been significant in art history
  • Identify methods used to evaluate artwork
  • Characterize the art and architecture from prehistoric times through early Renaissance
  • Analyze various works of art according to specific criteria
  • Understand the cultural significance of various works of art
  • Recognize characteristics or ways to identify art from different regions of the world

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1705 Student Reviews
Rating
by GABRIEL M. on September 20, 2020
Very informative! I enjoyed it!
Rating
by Ruby D. on September 20, 2020
this course was kind of hard but well worth it. i have learned so much about art. thanks sophia!
Rating
by karmin s. on September 20, 2020
I loved that is was compiled of only 3 sections. I liked the length in time it took and how easy the read was.
Rating
by TIMOTHY C. on September 19, 2020
glad i took this course. i learned so much more about art. i will not look at another structure, painting, or sculpture the same without apply some of the information i learned.
Rating
by Courtney S. on September 19, 2020
I learned so much Art History was the best course I've taken so far from Sophia learning.
Rating
by Darias H. on September 19, 2020
This was awesome.
Rating
by Tyler W. on September 19, 2020
I took it because i thought it'd be easy and it was but it caught my attention and i was actually quite interested in the class.
Rating
by David W. on September 18, 2020
Great course. It expanded my knowledge of the history of art.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Art History I FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required