+

Online College Course

Business Law

Business Law

Sophia's Business Law course is designed to introduce you to the fundamental aspects of law in business. Specifically, you will learn about the sources of law and methods of litigation in the United States, the laws governing corporations and other business entities, the bases of liability in contracts and torts, and the role of businesses in property and agency law. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 4 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Business Law

Course Description
Sophia's Business Law course is designed to introduce students to the fundamental aspects of law in business. Specifically, you will learn about the sources of law and methods of litigation in the United States, the laws governing corporations and other business entities, the bases of liability in contracts and torts, and the role of businesses in property and agency law. Throughout the course, you will be exposed to examples of both real and fictional cases to illustrate the concepts in practice.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 11 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 1 Touchstone (this is a written assignment) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
By the end of the course, you will be able to: 

  • Identify the various legal theories and sources of law in the United States
  • Recognize the structure and legal requirements of different business entities
  • Analyze the function and role of courts in the United States legal system
  • Evaluate business decisions through the lens of ethical theories and models
  • Identify the requirements for executing or voiding contracts
  • Determine the appropriate remedies in scenarios involving a breach of contract
  • Distinguish between the types of torts that individuals and organizations may commit
  • Apply the theories of strict liability to examples of tortious conduct
  • Recognize the various types of property that can be legally owned in the United States
  • Interpret the laws that govern the different types of intellectual property
  • Analyze the roles, responsibilities, and liabilities of principals and agents

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
9 Student Reviews
Rating
by Jared G. on August 2, 2020
A wide arrangement of law knowledge. Learned a lot.
Rating
by John M. on August 2, 2020
The content is interesting, certainly. But this course has had the greatest number of heavily subjective questions of any I've taken. Rarely will you get a question wrong and feel like it was obvious why. Many questions will have two answers that are nearly indistinguishable from each other. Proceed with caution.
Rating
by Lakita C. on August 1, 2020
This class had a touchstone which is basically a writing assignment. I passed with 92 out of 100 which says a lot for someone who hates writing papers. The class itself was easy to comprehend. Glad I took this verses in class learning. Took about a week and a half of late nights. Done!
Rating
by Emily M. on July 30, 2020
Unfair grading in the Touchstone... the course does not outline a proper citation but is strict about citation... the course itself was very informative but the tone was entirely formal... concepts would have been easier to understand if they included formal and informal explanation... the whole point of a course is to actually learn right?
Rating
by Isis T. on July 30, 2020
excellent course. very well done and thorough.
Rating
by Robert G. on July 29, 2020
I really enjoyed this course. Only issue was with the touchstone. I was dinged for missing that I needed to make an argument that wasn't clear in the description for the assignment. Otherwise... good course and I am extremely happy that it was offered.
Rating
by joshua w. on July 28, 2020
Difficult!
Rating
by Reginald W. on July 23, 2020
I would say that Bus Law is a really in-depth view of the business aspect of law. Contracts, Courts, Property law, if you do not like these subjects don't take it. The questions are full of what-ifs and scenarios. Not so clear cut.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Business Law FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required