Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

English Composition I

English Composition I

Sophia's English Composition I course takes you through the stages of the writing process, from brainstorming and drafting through revision and proofreading. You will strengthen you writing skills and become a more engaged reader and stronger critical thinker. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 35 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


35 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

English Composition I

Course Description
Sophia's English Composition I course takes you through the stages of the writing process, from brainstorming and drafting through revision and proofreading. You will strengthen you writing skills and become a more engaged reader and stronger critical thinker.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 13 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 4 Touchstone assessments (these are written assignments) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Understand the basic elements and goals of English composition
  • Write effective sentences and paragraphs
  • Employ proper grammar, punctuation, and mechanics usage
  • Articulate the stages of the writing process
  • Apply writing and revising techniques to narrative, comparison/contrast, informative, and argumentative essays

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
671 Student Reviews
Rating
by CHRISTIAN E. on September 20, 2020
Great job
Rating
by Crystal M. on September 20, 2020
This class was challenging because there are 4 essays to write, but I was able to finish it in a little over 2 weeks.
Rating
by Andrew S. on September 19, 2020
Get your word processor ready. This is a very long class.
Rating
by Jeremy M. on September 19, 2020
This was a very eye opening class, although I still don’t feel confident in writing essays and certain parts about proper English from the beginning of the class I still do not understand but overall taught me a lot
Rating
by William W. on September 19, 2020
Great course! Do not procrastinate, I could have been done this course in half the time. Take instructors feedback seriously.
Rating
by keisha H. on September 19, 2020
Very challenging class but very helpful and detailed. This class will encourage you to dig deep and test yourself as a writer. I really enjoyed this class and the directions about papers.
Rating
by Marty S. on September 18, 2020
This course was challenging and I had fun learning!
Rating
by ALAN L. on September 18, 2020
The course was well put together and easy to understand. Kurtis was a great instructor and I enjoyed reading the feedback he provided on my submitted essays. I look forward to taking other Sophia courses in the near future.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO English Composition I FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required