Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

English Composition I

English Composition I

Sophia's English Composition I course takes you through the stages of the writing process, from brainstorming and drafting through revision and proofreading. You will strengthen you writing skills and become a more engaged reader and stronger critical thinker. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 35 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


35 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

English Composition I

Course Description
Sophia's English Composition I course takes you through the stages of the writing process, from brainstorming and drafting through revision and proofreading. You will strengthen you writing skills and become a more engaged reader and stronger critical thinker.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 13 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 4 Touchstone assessments (these are written assignments) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Understand the basic elements and goals of English composition
  • Write effective sentences and paragraphs
  • Employ proper grammar, punctuation, and mechanics usage
  • Articulate the stages of the writing process
  • Apply writing and revising techniques to narrative, comparison/contrast, informative, and argumentative essays

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
671 Student Reviews
Rating
by Debra B. on May 22, 2019
I did not enjoy this course at all. I consider myself a high performer and strive to submit excellent work. This is the lowest grade I have received as a college student. In some instances, the individuals who graded my paper did not respond with proper grammar or spelling themselves. I submitted all of my essays in PDF format with the exception of 1 and that particular one had a large gap in the formatting that was not present when I submitted my work. I am very disappointed in the time it took to have my work graded. I guess I do not have a clear understanding for writing an argumentative essay. I cited credible websites but lost points because I didn't provide evidence to support my argument. Wouldn't the information obtained from those credible sites be the evidence needed? I no longer have the love for English I once had after taking this course.
Rating
by krissy p. on June 25, 2019
5 written assignments in one course & milestones are still required? Plus the inability to submit an assignment until the previous one is graded is ridiculous. They take entirely too long to grade the essays for us to have to wait for the feedback.
Rating
by Jong Hyun M. on July 11, 2019
The content was good and I enjoyed the course, but I wish it was made clearer that each essay takes about a week to have graded - and you can't submit other essays until you get previous ones back. Knowing all this would have helped me plan my time better so I wouldn't have needed an extension.
Rating
by Alex D. on August 9, 2020
This class was honestly torture. The lessons were long and boring and a lot of the answers to the questions seemed to be biased to reflect the author's own personal opinions. The most painful of all the sophia classes I've taken by far.
Rating
by brenda q. on June 17, 2019
The instructor was very diligent about providing feedback but failed to realize this is a freshman level (entry level) English course and was grading as if were a highly advance class.
Rating
by Emily W. on November 12, 2018
Good course, not given a lot of material for writing assignments.
Rating
by Felicia J. on June 25, 2019
The course was interesting, but the grading of the essays was very confusing and inconsistent.
Rating
by Karen R. on March 2, 2020
This course was a good refresher. I wasn't a fan of the instructor who they had for most of the course. I'd much rather see examples while someone is talking rather than watching someone speak. Some of the audio quality of the videos was rough as well, but the process wasn't too hard, and the grading had great feedback. With some of the medical issues I was having, Sophia did a great job working with me!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO English Composition I FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required