Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

English Composition II

English Composition II

Sophia's English Composition II course is designed to build upon the concepts taught in English Composition I by focusing on a research perspective. In this course, you will be introduced to proper research techniques for academic writing and will practice navigating the steps of the research process, beginning with a research question and culminating in a final 6-8 page argumentative research essay. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 30 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


30 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

English Composition II

Course Description
Sophia's English Composition II course is designed to build upon the concepts taught in English Composition I by focusing on a research perspective. In this course, you will be introduced to proper research techniques for academic writing and will practice navigating the steps of the research process, beginning with a research question and culminating in a final 6-8 page argumentative research essay. Additionally, you will gain experience interacting with and evaluating scholarly research sources outside of those chosen for your final essay.

Assessments and Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 9 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 7 Touchstone assessments (these are writing assignments) with an overall score of 70% or better. 

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to: 

  • Apply the basics of research writing
  • Develop effective research questions and thesis statements
  • Evaluate the types and quality of sources
  • Engage in meaningful analysis of research
  • Apply the principles and techniques of argumentative writing
  • Structure research essays effectively
  • Integrate research according to citation conventions
  • Improve rough drafts using revising and editing skills
  • Polish final drafts using proofreading skills

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference. 

        Rating
        by Morgan J. on December 1, 2020
        This course was very time consuming and took longer than expected. There were different professors grading each of the assignments and the feedback was not always helpful. One professor would make a suggestion and when I fixed it in the next assignment, another professor would say it was incorrect. Assignments are harshly graded and you can't discuss it with the person who graded it to be able to better understand their comments or your grade. I had to extend this class to be able to finish and I am so happy it is over!!
        Rating
        by Mark P. on December 1, 2020
        Thank you very much. I enjoyed the class and found it very challenging and comprehension. Mark Pina
        Rating
        by Allison G. on December 1, 2020
        This was a tough course for me but the learning material was what is necessary to continue on with college level writing. I feel like it has prepared me for researching and writing in my future courses as a Psychology major. The grading was very precise so I suggest anyone who takes this class really check the rubric and review the section materials before working on your Touchstones if you want to get high grades. The feedback on the graded Touchstones was always helpful. I would recommend this class to other students.
        Rating
        by Paul F. on November 30, 2020
        This was a fun, challenging course.
        Rating
        by Tyrone F. on November 30, 2020
        I learned a lot from this class. There was a lot of writing but the class was not bad.
        Rating
        by Ashton R. on November 29, 2020
        I accidentally put the wrong review on English Comp 1. I had no problem with that class. This class I did have many issues. I sent you all an email about it because this feedback box will not let me put my entire feedback in it. Please take the feedback I sent for English 1 down. It is not accurate.
        Rating
        by Franca M. on November 29, 2020
        This course was quite challenging for me, but I am grateful to God that I passed it. I will like to thank the entire Sophia company , from the people that answer the phones, to the instructors. You are really a great team. Blessings always and stay safe.
        Rating
        by Erendira S. on November 25, 2020
        Excellent course. Thank you!

        FAQ

        • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

          A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

          Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

        • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

          A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

        • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

          A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

        • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

          A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

        • Q: How am I graded in the course?

          A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

        • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

          A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

        • Q: Are the tests proctored?

          A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

        • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

          A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

        Oh no. Please don't go.

        TRY INTRODUCTION TO English Composition II FOR FREE!

        No Credit Card Required