Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

English Composition II

English Composition II

Sophia's English Composition II course is designed to build upon the concepts taught in English Composition I by focusing on a research perspective. In this course, you will be introduced to proper research techniques for academic writing and will practice navigating the steps of the research process, beginning with a research question and culminating in a final 6-8 page argumentative research essay. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 29 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


29 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

English Composition II

Course Description
Sophia's English Composition II course is designed to build upon the concepts taught in English Composition I by focusing on a research perspective. In this course, you will be introduced to proper research techniques for academic writing and will practice navigating the steps of the research process, beginning with a research question and culminating in a final 6-8 page argumentative research essay. Additionally, you will gain experience interacting with and evaluating scholarly research sources outside of those chosen for your final essay.

Assessments and Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 9 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 7 Touchstone assessments (these are writing assignments) with an overall score of 70% or better. 

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to: 

  • Apply the basics of research writing
  • Develop effective research questions and thesis statements
  • Evaluate the types and quality of sources
  • Engage in meaningful analysis of research
  • Apply the principles and techniques of argumentative writing
  • Structure research essays effectively
  • Integrate research according to citation conventions
  • Improve rough drafts using revising and editing skills
  • Polish final drafts using proofreading skills

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference. 

        Reviews

        Rating
        252 Student Reviews
        Rating
        by Jesse M. on June 14, 2020
        The person that graded most of my material, Chris Swindell was very biased against my topic material I submitted. He graded me based on his opinions. A different grader, Microsoft User Tyler graded me much better and gave better feedback. Chris Swindell's grading of my final, compared to the grade I received for my rough draft of the final is waaay lopsided. He also gave very personal opinions in feedback for my previous work. Look it up!!!
        Rating
        by Robert H. on June 16, 2020
        I would have appreciated a method of addressing the feedback given on the drafts I submitted.
        Rating
        by Cherise R. on March 24, 2020
        This course was challenging; however, I enjoyed the writing assignments. It took me the full 60 days plus an extension.
        Rating
        by Michael E. on February 28, 2020
        This was a great course! The challenge is completing the touchstones which can take several days to get graded. As long as you stay on top of the work, you will succeed!
        Rating
        by Josh F. on July 8, 2020
        The overall process and program were good but the inconsistency in feedback was confusing. For instance on 2 papers I lost a lot of points for minor citation issues and the feedback seemed like the grader took offense to my essay argument. Later on my rough draft all my citations were perfect according to APA standards and though unchanged I lost points on my final due to the citations. On my final I was also told I had to use times new Roman font when all my submissions had been in lexend deca and that was fine and the course mentions any standard font is acceptable.
        Rating
        by Virginia C. on July 19, 2020
        It’s difficult to correctly write your essay with multiple instructors grading your papers. They have different expectations that the prior instructor did not. I think, at the very least, the draft essay and the revision should be graded by the same instructor for some sort of consistency.
        Rating
        by James F. on December 23, 2019
        This is an incredible course.
        Rating
        by Jakeyah B. on July 11, 2020
        There was a lot of writing in this course. Takes a very long time to get papers graded. I had a english expert to go over my papers & still had points deducted. No matter how great your paper is they will find a way to take off points and not give you a perfect grade. Dr. Debbie is a very tough grader. I did learn a lot throughout this course.

        FAQ

        • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

          A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

          Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

        • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

          A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

        • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

          A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

        • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

          A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

        • Q: How am I graded in the course?

          A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

        • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

          A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

        • Q: Are the tests proctored?

          A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

        • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

          A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

        Oh no. Please don't go.

        TRY INTRODUCTION TO English Composition II FOR FREE!

        No Credit Card Required