Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Introduction to Business

Introduction to Business

Sophia's Introduction to Business course helps you understand the fundamentals of business. In this course, you will examine the environment of business, the art and science of marketing, what successful management of human resources looks like, and the basics of business finance and business investment. You will also learn how these concepts apply to companies of all sizes whether big, small or even entrepreneurial. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 33 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


33 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Introduction to Business

Course Description
Sophia's Introduction to Business course helps you understand the fundamentals of business. In this course, you will examine the environment of business, the art and science of marketing, what successful management of human resources looks like, and the basics of business finance and business investment. You will also learn how these concepts apply to companies of all sizes whether big, small, or even entrepreneurial.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe the environment of business
  • Examine the art and science of marketing
  • Analyze the successful management of human resources
  • Evaluate finance and investment in business

Sophia's Many Ways
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
2077 Student Reviews
Rating
by William B. on May 6, 2018
i like the content but wasn't impressed by practice questions/milestones. I felt that they tried to trick you when asking questions creating a negative experience. The video tutorials were good but questions were difficult to answer even when watching. The terms to know did not include key terms for questions at times.
Rating
by Gregory L. on January 15, 2019
There were some questions that I thought should be a different answer vs what it said was the right answer.
Rating
by Matt P. on September 29, 2017
Easy! Completed it in 10 days while working full time and taking a condensed college course. Completed Milestones in 7 days and I had to wait 3 days to take the final.
Rating
by Rebekah S. on July 29, 2020
There were a few questions within the lessons where I would argue that the multiple-choice options provided did not provide enough differentiation to signify the "correct" answer amongst the "incorrect". Happy to share my screenshots with whomever want to discuss.
Rating
by Sarah A. on February 28, 2019
I would like to have more examples of the terms in the tutorial. Most of the ones I missed, were asking for examples and giving scenarios that were more detailed than the flat examples given. It would also be nice for maybe a small dialog box on the wrong question explaining how it is wrong or what makes it right. Just little things to help me improve.
Rating
by Brandon I. on July 8, 2020
5 stars for the course, 2 stars for Sophia. Here is how I break it down. 4 stars for the glossary, almost all the information was in the glossary. I like to use the glossary though not everyone does, so this may not be important to you. 5 stars for the tutorials. I watched Jeff's videos, they were faster. Occasionally had to look at the other guy's tutorials but they were way slower. I play these videos at 1.5 speed, would highly recommend this! 5 stars for speed or the course. Took about 9 hours non-stop. 0 stars for requiring learning. Because of the set up of Sophia, everything is open book. This does not mandate learning, only encourages students to remember where, not what, information is. 4 star for course maneuverability and setup.
Rating
by Jonathan D. on October 12, 2018
The tutorials are good but there were several questions with errors or more than one objectively correct answer but only arbitrarily accepted one of them. The final milestone in particular needs to be fixed.
Rating
by Madeline M. on February 13, 2017
I finished it in 6 days.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Introduction to Business FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required