Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Introduction to Information Technology

Introduction to Information Technology

Sophia's Introduction to Information Technology course provides students with an overview of information systems including hardware and software components, networking, database management, and issues related to privacy, security and ethics. Students will learn how computers represent, store, and process information and how businesses and organizations use technology and information systems to make decisions. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

This course uses problem-based learning to help you apply knowledge to real-life situations, giving you a deeper understanding of the material as it relates to the world around you.

Overview
Introduction to Information Technology gives you a general overview of information systems, security issues, and how businesses use technology and information systems. Topics include:

  • Computer Basics
  • Application Software
  • Understanding Networks and the Internet
  • Software Development and IT Careers

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
By the end of this class, you'll be able to define different types of hardware, software, operating systems and networks, apply HTML tags, and learn about IT tools used to maintain and evolve information systems.

For more course details and Learning Outcomes, download the syllabus.

Reviews

Rating
266 Student Reviews
Rating
by Nicole B. on March 25, 2019
Finished this class in about two days. The new "no proctor" testing makes the whole process easier.
Rating
by Tawana G. on March 7, 2019
Another course completed within 1 week. On to the next...
Rating
by Maria O. on November 12, 2017
Not bad, completed in 3 days.
Rating
by Kelly A. on January 5, 2018
Good knowledge here for someone just getting their feet wet in the IT world!
Rating
by Christopher S. on September 5, 2018
Finished in about five hours, with the Proctor exam in total with setting up the session about six hours. Granted I know a bit about IT so I just winged it. Some of the questions need to be reworked/worded so that you know to reference what the course details out. It's my fault for skipping most of the course and just answering the questions. I passed with an 84 but it could have been higher.
Rating
by Michelle O. on February 21, 2018
Excellent course with easy-to-understand format
Rating
by Katie G. on November 21, 2017
Super easy course. This is a great way to quickly take care of a general elective in need of fulfillment.
Rating
by Barbara B. on January 14, 2019
I really enjoyed the IT Course, the only issue I had, was that I second guessed myself on some of my answers. Other than that, a great course.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Introduction to Information Technology FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required

Or try one of our other college courses: