Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Microeconomics

Microeconomics

Sophia's Microeconomics course helps you thoroughly understand the principles of economics related to the behavior of individuals and firms in making decisions on the allocation of resources. You will learn the role of government in promoting greater efficiency and equity in the economy and how to evaluate decisions with an economic lens. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 28 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Using problem-based learning and real-world situations, this course teaches you how to apply knowledge in practical and relevant contexts. Our Many Ways™ learning model feature multiple teachers and various instructional styles for each concept so you can find a style that meshes with your individual learning preference. This rich, immersive experience helps you better understand and retain information, for an all-around smarter way to learn.

Sophia's Microeconomics course helps you explore and interpret the behavior of individual consumers and firms in the marketplace. Through this exploration, you will learn how to evaluate decisions, both public and private, with an eye towards production, consumption, and transfer of wealth. In this course, you will also learn how to apply conceptual principles of microeconomics in practical ways to everyday life.

In Sophia's Microeconomics course, you will complete a series of formative and summative assessments comprised of 9 Challenge assessments and 4 Milestone assessments and tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Describe economics
  • Examine the consumer
  • Analyze the firm
  • Interpret market interactions: consumer and firm

Reviews

Rating
98 Student Reviews
Rating
by Mario H. on August 4, 2017
I thought it was interesting, and I learned a lot of vocabulary. I struggle with not having human interaction, so my understanding could have been better. Ultimately though, my biggest issue with this class was that the questions seemed like they were designed to confuse me. I'm just barely learning this stuff, so tricky questions only succeed in making me doubt what I learned, which results in me no longer trusting my understanding of the subject. It was not terrible though.
Rating
by agnar j. on June 11, 2019
My 10th Sophia Course is done! As a full-time employee with limited time to fulfill my goal of a Bachelor Degree before turning 55 Sophia is making it happen for me. Microeconomics is another course I would recommend to take through Sophia Learning. Thanks guys!!
Rating
by Katelyn H. on March 18, 2019
There are no Sophia Learning tutorials for this course, which is disappointing for those who prefer reading to videos. Only one instructor has been transribed and it includes all the "fluff" she adds, making it difficult to sort through the important vs. non-important information. The instructor they transcribed for this course is very slow, chatty, and not consice. The reason I use Sophia courses is because I love THEIR tutorials, which are clear and to the point. There was a lot of repeated information throughout the tutorials. Many of the them went over what was previously taught, even several tutorials prior, which made it feel unorganized. This course was just so different for Sophia, it felt like it was put together by a different team. I've already purchased Macroeconomics and I'm hoping it will be back to the norm. I'm thankful for this course and the credits, but the Sophia element of it was truly missed. I hope it'll make a return in Macroeconomics... fingers crossed.
Sophia replied on March 31, 2019

Hello Katelyn! Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that you love our text-based tutorials; they are definitely a learner favorite (we think they're pretty great too)! Might we suggest US History II, which primarily features Sophia's text-based tutorials with an audio option. Our learners seem to really enjoy this newer course and you might find it to have more of that "Sophia feel" you're looking for. Happy learning!

— Kelly N. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Mark H. on July 21, 2018
I liked the course and thought it was very informative. I am very interested in this field and I still thought it was a challenging course. There are a few spots where ambiguity crept into questions on the testing portion of the course. I did not particularly care for the portion related to climate change in relation to business. Correlation is not causation when dealing with climate change and because large numbers of people gravitate to the beach and suffer property destruction due to weather, is not proof that human cause climate change. Cooperate to graduate, the questions are easy to answer from the provided material. Overall, I liked the course and will put many of the learned material to work for me. It was not something that I breezed through and will now take something that is more verbal for a bit of a break.
Rating
by Tyler K. on July 27, 2018
I liked the course well enough, and I feel as though I took a lot away from it. I think that people may think that it is going to be easy but it is pretty challenging. I will say that this was my first time dealing with ProctorU and that was an absolute joke. That experience almost ruined the course for me.
Sophia replied on July 27, 2018

Tyler - Congratulations on you successful course completion. We appreciate your feedback about the proctored final exam. Rest assured that we will follow up with ProctorU's leadership team on your experience. Thank you.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Jeff P. on November 4, 2018
Not all learners benefit from the format of the unit tutorial available for this class. It was difficult to understand without the text book style tutorials available in other classes. If the videos were in addition to the textbook style format, that would be the best option.
Sophia replied on March 31, 2019

Hello Jeff! Like you, a lot of learners prefer the Sophia text-based tutorials. It's feedback like yours that help us prioritize necessary work on specific courses. We will review and implement needed changes to make this better! Thank you again for taking the time to submit your feedback - we love hearing from our learners!

— Kelly N. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Johnathan M. on July 31, 2013
The ability to view each concept from multiple instructors is a powerful way to learn.
Rating
by Weston F. on January 7, 2018
Kate was an excellent instructor with great video and written explanations. This course was a lot of fun and I learned a lot from it.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Microeconomics FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required