Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Project Management

Project Management

Sophia's Project Management course takes you through the life cycle of managing a project, from designing the scope to completing the project and celebrating your success. Along the way, you will gain applied experience with project planning as well as managing project resources and risks. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Using problem-based learning and real-world situations, this course teaches you how to apply knowledge in practical and relevant contexts. Our Many Ways™ learning model feature multiple teachers and various instructional styles for each concept so you can find a style that meshes with your individual learning preference. This rich, immersive experience helps you better understand and retain information, for an all-around smarter way to learn.

Sophia's Project Management course takes you through the life cycle of managing a project, from designing the scope to releasing the project team and celebrating your success. Along the way, you will gain applied experience with project planning as well as managing project resources and risks.

In Sophia's Project Management course, you will complete a series of formative and summative assessments comprised of 8 Challenge assessments and 4 Milestone assessments and tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Analyze the beginning of the project
  • Illustrate the project planning process
  • Apply project management skills
  • Evaluate project completion

Reviews

Rating
266 Student Reviews
Rating
by Ryan C. on October 16, 2015
I feel the test questions were meant to test semantics and not content. Many of the mutliple choice answers were almost too similar at times or confusing. Additionally, not being able to review test questions is a real disappointment as it does not help a student to simply say, "review these areas". I wanted to know what I put and how it was wrong. We can't learn from mistakes if we aren't aware of what our mistake acutally was. However, thank you for this opportunity, I would take another course on your website.
Sophia replied on October 19, 2015

Ryan -- Congratulations on your successful course completion! While we cannot reveal the actual Milestone questions/answers, we do provide you with feedback and point you to the specific concepts that require more study. As always, a Sophia Learning Coach can dive into specific concepts and questions with you during the course. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you in a future course.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Michael C. on June 5, 2017
I doubt I do another Sophia course - not because the curriculum is lacking, rather because of your partnership with ProctorU - incompetence doesn't begin to describe the experience - she literally wanted me to pickup a 50 pound Apple computer off my desk and carry it with me around the room to show her my four corners and under my desk... This after she insisted I needed to have a large mirror to show her my monitor screens - I did everything I could to try and make this process smooth, but in the end, I nearly quit the entire process over ProctorU - I was able to finish it and pass my exam - despite her jacking with my computer extensively (took an additional 30 minutes to setup things back up not to mention more than 30 minutes just to get started) - I like the idea of ProctorU, but I will never take a course that uses this service again - very poorly run, when compared to the quality of the Sophia program as a whole.
Sophia replied on June 5, 2017

Hi Michael -- Thank you for sharing your experience. While that is not what we hope, the standard practice is for the proctor to ensure no one else in the room, and your workspace complies with the academic policies that apply to the final exam. We will follow up with ProctorU to see what could have been done differently in this case. On a positive note, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the course material. Congratulations on your successful course completion!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Andres P. on October 31, 2015
It was a great course; I wish we had like all the lessons in a transcript instead of going to different places to locate answers. Like a huge PDF document with everything in it.
Rating
by Adam B. on October 11, 2015
One of the best courses I've taken at Sophia. Very informative and flowed nicely hitting every aspect required.
Rating
by David F. on November 1, 2015
Great course, loved the video tutorial and the transcripts provided by Jeff Carroll
Rating
by Jennifer P. on January 4, 2018
Great course! I enjoyed it.
Rating
by Anny O. on October 23, 2015
The definitions on the tutorials are different than the definitions the questions are asking for. I found myself checking answers that I knew just to find the right variation of it and I felt distracted by the deceptiveness of the questions. The course should change the guidelines for the instructors so that they all issue the exact terminology instead of slightly different variations that may yield the wrong answer. Having said all this, the information provided is very informative and I feel like I learned a lot. I really like the use of real life scenarios, it makes the subject matter easier to digest.
Sophia replied on October 23, 2015

Anny -- congratulations on your successful completion! Our Many Ways to Learn model features multiple instructors, and each question in the Challenges is set in a context that is designed to help the student determine the correct response. Again, congratulations from all of us at Sophia!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Joseph C. on January 8, 2016
The videos were simple to understand, and if you took good notes during the videos, you were prepared for the quizzes and milestones.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Project Management FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required