Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Project Management

Project Management

Sophia's Project Management course takes you through the life cycle of managing a project, from designing the scope to completing the project and celebrating your success. Along the way, you will gain applied experience with project planning as well as managing project resources and risks. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 31 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Business

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


31 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Project Management

Course Description
Sophia's Project Management course takes you through the life cycle of managing a project, from designing the scope to completing the project and celebrating your success. Along the way, you will gain applied experience with project planning as well as managing project resources and risks.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 8 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Analyze the beginning of the project
  • Illustrate the project planning process
  • Apply project management skills
  • Evaluate project completion

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1624 Student Reviews
Rating
by Ryan C. on October 16, 2015
I feel the test questions were meant to test semantics and not content. Many of the mutliple choice answers were almost too similar at times or confusing. Additionally, not being able to review test questions is a real disappointment as it does not help a student to simply say, "review these areas". I wanted to know what I put and how it was wrong. We can't learn from mistakes if we aren't aware of what our mistake acutally was. However, thank you for this opportunity, I would take another course on your website.
Sophia replied on October 19, 2015

Ryan -- Congratulations on your successful course completion! While we cannot reveal the actual Milestone questions/answers, we do provide you with feedback and point you to the specific concepts that require more study. As always, a Sophia Learning Coach can dive into specific concepts and questions with you during the course. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you in a future course.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Michael C. on June 5, 2017
I doubt I do another Sophia course - not because the curriculum is lacking, rather because of your partnership with ProctorU - incompetence doesn't begin to describe the experience - she literally wanted me to pickup a 50 pound Apple computer off my desk and carry it with me around the room to show her my four corners and under my desk... This after she insisted I needed to have a large mirror to show her my monitor screens - I did everything I could to try and make this process smooth, but in the end, I nearly quit the entire process over ProctorU - I was able to finish it and pass my exam - despite her jacking with my computer extensively (took an additional 30 minutes to setup things back up not to mention more than 30 minutes just to get started) - I like the idea of ProctorU, but I will never take a course that uses this service again - very poorly run, when compared to the quality of the Sophia program as a whole.
Sophia replied on June 5, 2017

Hi Michael -- Thank you for sharing your experience. While that is not what we hope, the standard practice is for the proctor to ensure no one else in the room, and your workspace complies with the academic policies that apply to the final exam. We will follow up with ProctorU to see what could have been done differently in this case. On a positive note, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the course material. Congratulations on your successful course completion!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Nathan M. on April 28, 2020
The course content is alright, but the questions in the Challenges, and Milestones are designed to trick the user. Give me questions with definitive answers.
Rating
by Michael W. on July 3, 2020
While the challenges in this course were not hard, the milestone questions were very difficult and some of the questions didn't match the textbook. I got a 70% in the course but did it in two days.
Rating
by Kathryn K. on July 24, 2020
The materials were fine. The quizzes and milestones were ridiculous. A lot of project management is common sense for anyone who has been in the workforce for several years; whoever designed this course seemed to be concerned that homework would be too easy for adult learners and therefore strove to make questions as difficult as possible using methods like: asking questions that literally did not make sense (confusing grammar or wrong words used); using jargon we hadn't covered in the lessons; having two or more answers that could have been right; having *no* answers that could have been right, and so forth. I felt like I was being tested on how good I am at taking tests, not on how well I understood the materials. The lessons themselves were okay, although I would suggest more "real-world" examples of what the terms mean or how a process is conducted, especially in the section on evaluating risk.
Rating
by Darcey B. on June 11, 2020
As the Director of Project Management for my company I found the material disjointed from the test questions.
Rating
by Anny O. on October 23, 2015
The definitions on the tutorials are different than the definitions the questions are asking for. I found myself checking answers that I knew just to find the right variation of it and I felt distracted by the deceptiveness of the questions. The course should change the guidelines for the instructors so that they all issue the exact terminology instead of slightly different variations that may yield the wrong answer. Having said all this, the information provided is very informative and I feel like I learned a lot. I really like the use of real life scenarios, it makes the subject matter easier to digest.
Sophia replied on October 23, 2015

Anny -- congratulations on your successful completion! Our Many Ways to Learn model features multiple instructors, and each question in the Challenges is set in a context that is designed to help the student determine the correct response. Again, congratulations from all of us at Sophia!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Jennifer P. on January 4, 2018
Great course! I enjoyed it.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Project Management FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required