Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

U.S. History I

U.S. History I

Sophia's US History I course builds your knowledge of key events and figures in the history of the United States from American prehistory through the era of Reconstruction. This course emphasizes critical thinking skills and consideration of multiple perspectives through the analysis of primary sources. You will learn how to think like a historian and apply a historian's lens to real-world situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 32 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


32 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

U.S. History I

Course Description
Sophia's US History I course builds your knowledge of key events and figures in the history of the United States from American prehistory through the era of Reconstruction. This course emphasizes critical thinking skills and consideration of multiple perspectives through the analysis of primary sources. You will learn how to think like a historian and apply a historian's lens to real-world situations.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Interpret or analyze a primary source to draw conclusions about a historical event
  • Apply different historical lenses in order to critically analyze historical events through a variety of
    perspectives
  • Understand the events, people, and motivations involved in the settling of the Americas
  • Recognize the events and factors that lead up to the American Revolution
  • Analyze the political, social and economic climate during and after the drafting of the constitution
  • Evaluate the events leading up to the Civil War and understand the key players, battles, and rationales
  • Analyze how historians have interpreted the era of reconstruction and the causes for the collapse of reconstruction
  • Trace the evolution of slavery and examine the experience of slaves from the age of exploration
    through the era of reconstruction

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Rating
by Clecio A. on April 27, 2020
The hardest class so far. Make notes. A little tip: read above and bellow the topics, they hide the answers there. It's NEVER obvious! I spent whole weekend to finish - about 20 hours of study. I MADE IT! Praise God. more tips, IG @theclecio
Rating
by Susan R. on May 16, 2020
Lots of great information, but challenge and milestone questions are tricky and have little to do with the direct text
Rating
by Kingsley Ngangeh Y. on May 4, 2020
I Learned a lot about the history of America. I usually don't like history too much but I found the audio content very useful. Thank you guys for making these courses free. I passed this one, now on to the next one.
Rating
by Chad P. on May 18, 2020
This was by far the hardest course I have taken (out of 4 so far). There is so much information and the answers are hidden very well. The information was great and I found it very interesting, but it was a true struggle the whole time
Rating
by Erica S. on September 13, 2020
The questions were unnecessarily tricky and difficult. This is coming from a straight A student in their senior year of college going who is dual enrolled in Harvard online. Most of the questions were subjective and could have more than 1 right answer. My least favorite class out of all 13 I've taken on sophia.com.
Rating
by Aitan L. on June 11, 2020
This class sucks. Please stop making the entirety of history about how all people were racists and actually focus on history. We get it, racism was a real thing but there is no need to portray history as a time where nothing good ever happened, as if the entirety of history is not being repeated right now.
Rating
by Marc P. on May 18, 2020
The tests asked the same questions over and over with wildly different answers being correct.
Rating
by Boaz G. on June 22, 2020
I did not enjoy this class but I am happy that I made it though, there is simply too much information to absorb for one class. It's unfortunate that the structure is so challenging because the information is so enlightening.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO U.S. History I FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required