Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

US History I

US History I

Sophia's US History I course builds student knowledge of key events and figures in the history of the United States from American prehistory through the era of Reconstruction. This course emphasizes critical thinking skills and consideration of multiple perspectives through the analysis of primary sources. Students will learn how to think like a historian and apply a historian's lens to real-world situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

This course uses problem-based learning and relatable real-world situations to help you understand historical events and eras. By evaluating multiple sources of information and points of view, you'll learn to think critically and contextually about history and its impact on the present.

Overview
This course encompasses key events and era in US History from prehistory and early settlers to the Civil War and Reconstruction. Themes, eras, and events include:

  • The First Settlers
  • Growth of the Colonies
  • The American War for Independence
  • The Civil War and Reconstruction

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
By the end of this course, you'll know how to analyze primary and secondary sources to form and defend your conclusions. You'll be able to think more like a historian by using different contextual lenses to understand events and eras through a variety of perspectives.

For more course details and Learning Outcomes, download the syllabus.

Reviews

Rating
124 Student Reviews
Rating
by Patrice S. on February 10, 2018
On the verification milestone I was told there was 120 minutes, thou only had 90 minutes. this caused me to rush the question i skipped.
Rating
by Mitchell R. on December 6, 2017
This course was ok. Of the 3 I've done so far, it was my least favorite, and that is mostly due to the nature of the testing questions. Things are worded in ways that are just confusing, and make it unnecessarily complicated to show that you know the material.
Sophia replied on December 6, 2017

Hi Mitchell - congratulations on your most recent course completion! Regarding the questions in the assessments -- one technique we suggest is to first read the question, then jump into the related tutorial to determine your answer. Before submitting your answer, read the question again to ensure it makes sense given the context and root of the question. Our team of Learning Coaches is here to provide support and clarification as needed as you go through the course. Thank you!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Shaina R. on December 11, 2017
Not a bad course, alot of information to take in. 90 minutes isn't long enough for the final milestone. There's alot to retain and some questions are tricky in how they are worded.
Rating
by Amberly C. on March 26, 2019
I really felt like the material was straightforward, though the tests were not. They were not very well aligned with the material and were too manipulative. Not a good tactic for a Sophia course in my opinion. You can do better.
Rating
by Edith A. on April 25, 2018
It was difficult to keep track of the timeline of events. Tables or charts added to the course material would make it easier to picture the sequence.
Rating
by Holly T. on August 25, 2018
There really needs to be videos that accompany each lesson. The visual component would help in retention of information. The topic is already pretty dry and listening to someone read a script is not helpful.
Rating
by Brett L. on November 19, 2017
This course taught a lot of information. I appreciated the insight but sometimes, more often than not, the challenges and milestones contain a little too much obscure language instead of just outright asking a question.
Rating
by Tricia T. on August 1, 2018
This class was very hard. Very hard tests. Unable to navigate through course material easily.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO US History I FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required

Or try one of our other college courses: