Online College Courses for Credit

2 Tutorials that teach Common Core Math: Domains and Standards Explained
Take your pick:
Common Core Math: Domains and Standards Explained

Common Core Math: Domains and Standards Explained


In this lesson you develop a basic understanding of the structure of the Common Core Math Standards, the Domains and the Practice Standards

See More

Like what you're learning?

Standards-Based Digital Instruction

Take the whole course from Capella University FOR FREE


Source: Bricks, Pixabay,; Swing set, Morguefile,; Globe, Clker,; Stick Figure, Clker,

Video Transcription

Download PDF

Hello, everyone. And welcome to today's tutorial. The title is Common Core Math Domains and Standards Explained. So let's get started.

One of the most frustrating experiences I have ever had as a parent was putting a swing set together. I remember calling my brother in-law to help. I told him it would just take a couple of hours. And then I would cook on the grill for us.

I did make some great hamburgers. However, a couple of hours turned into an entire weekend. Taking the 100s of parts out of the boxes seemed like it would never end. Some of the pieces seemed important, yet others I couldn't quite understand what they were for.

Unpacking the domains and standards of common core is a lot like that. In this lesson, we'll primarily focus on the parts of the standards, and focus in on each one. We'll talk about the content standards, clusters, domains, and the specific math practice standards.

Content standards can be defined as what students should understand and be able to do. I like to think of them as a brick. Clusters summarise summarize groups of related standards-- some major, some minor, and some supporting. Based on the complexity, some are given greater attention than others. Some may take longer to master, and others may be connected to future topics.

Like a stack of bricks and the parts of my swing set, some of the clusters of standards are considered critical. Nevertheless, all should be addressed, or students may have gaps in their understanding. Domains are larger groups of related standards.

Standards from different domains may sometimes be closely related. There are eight practice standards that I like to think of as the cement that holds them altogether. Those eight maths practice standards taken from the common core are make sense of problems and persevere, reason abstractly and quantitatively, construct viable arguments and critiques for others, model with mathematics, use appropriate tool strategically, attend to precision, look for and make use of structure, and look for an express regularity in repeated reasoning.

As for the domains, the ones that support K-8 math are as follows; counting and cardinality, operations and algebraic thinking, numbers and operations in base 10, numbers and operations, fractions, measurement and data, geometry, ratio and proportional relationships, the number system, expressions and equations, statistics and probability, functions. There are six conceptual categories for students in high school-- and they are; number in quantity, algebra, functions, modeling, geometry, and statistics and probability.

So to summarize this lesson, we introduced and defined the parts of the standards. We looked specifically at moth practice standards, the K-8 domains, as well as the high school conceptual categories. Here's today's food for thought, do the materials you are currently using to teach math support the common core standards? If not, what can you do about that?

Now, it's your turn to apply what you've learned in this video. The additional resources section will be super helpful. This section is designed to help you discover useful ways to apply what you've learned here. Each link includes a brief description so that you can easily target the resources that you want.

Thanks again for watching. Have a great day.

Notes on "Common Core Math: Domains and Standards Explained"

(00:00-00:11) Intro

(00:12-00:42) The Swing

(00:42-01:44) Parts of the Standards

(01:45-02:14) Math Practice Standards

(02:15-02:47) K-8 Domains

(02:48-03:07) High School Conceptual Categories

(03:08-03:23) Summary

(03:24-03:56) Food For Thought

Additional Resources

Mastery Connect State Standards Application

A free application for teachers aligned to the state and CCSS standards from Mastery Connect. This is useful resource to have at your fingertips when designing lessons. Each state application provides teachers with clickable links to each standard by grade as an easy to use reference tool.

Math Assessment Project (resource list)

This site offers math tasks aligned to the standards for middle school and high school students by the Math Assessment Project (MAP) out of the University of California Berkeley. Teachers can click on a standard to find an aligned math task.The tasks include guidance and resources for teachers to use as they facilitate student learning using the task. These tasks are valuable tools as teachers begin to build their curriculum resources aligned to CCSS, with a focus on critical thinking skills.

EQuIP Quality Review Process

This Equip Rubric is for the review of math lessons and units aligned to the CCSS math standards. Currently there are many resources available with a CCSS sticker attached, yet very few of these resources are actually aligned. As an educator it can be difficult to know if a resource is aligned. The Equip rubric provides an easy to use rubric for educators to use in selecting and developing resources and lessons aligned to the CCSS.

Educators Evaluating Quality Instructional Products (EQuIP)

This is a video on how to use the Equip Rubric resource. Scroll to the bottom of page and click on tab labeled "Equip Training Materials."