Online College Courses for Credit

2 Tutorials that teach ELA CCSS Standards
Take your pick:
ELA CCSS Standards

ELA CCSS Standards


In this lesson, students analyze the origins of the CCSS for ELA and how the CCSS ELA standards will be assessed. In addition, students understand the major shifts in instruction required by the CCSS ELA standards.

See More

Like what you're learning?

Understanding Competency-Based Curriculum

Take the whole course from Capella University FOR FREE


Source: Digital Access Key Image; Morgue File;

Notes on "ELA CCSS Standards"

(00:00-00:21) Intro

(00:22-00:31) Objectives

(00:32-01:43) History of CC ELA Standards

(01:44-04:05) Key Shift Areas

(04:06-05:36) Positives & Negatives

(05:37-05:48) Review

(05:49-06:35) Reflection

Additional Resources

EQuIP Rubric for Lessons & Units: ELA/Literacy

There are currently many resources available with a CCSS sticker attached, yet very few of these resources are actually aligned. As an educator it can be difficult to know if a resource is aligned. The Equip rubric provides an easy to use rubric for educators when selecting and developing resources and lessons aligned to the CCSS. Below is a link to the rubric as well as a how-to video on using the rubric.
Rubric for ELA grades K-2:
Rubric for ELA grades 3-12:
Video: (Scroll to the center of page and click on the tab labeled "EQuIP Training Materials.")

​Achieve the Core

This website offers information for teachers, coaches, and leaders who are implementing the CCSS in their schools and classrooms. By clicking on your role, subject, and grade, you will find strategies, lessons plans, and embedded professional learning to help you integrate the standards into your curriculum and instruction.

Understanding the K-12 Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects 

Achieve the Common Core has developed a handout for educators that breaks down the components of the ELA CCSS. This fact sheet provides a high level overview of the Reading, Writing, Language, Speaking and Listening, Technology, and Literacy Standards.