4 Tutorials that teach Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory
Take your pick:
Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory

Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory

Author: Sadie Pendaz

This lesson will list, define, and discuss Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development.

See More
Introduction to Sociology

Want to study the effects of an affordable education?
Our Intro to Sociology course for only $329.

Sophia's online courses not only save you up to 80% over traditional college**, but are also eligible for credit transfer to over 2,000 colleges and universities.* Start a free trial now.

  • Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development

    A four-stage theory of how cognition, thinking, and reasoning develop in and throughout the lifecourse.

  • Sensorimotor Stage

    The stage from birth until about two years old where humans primarily "know" the world through their physical senses of touching, smelling, tasting, seeing, and hearing.

  • Preoperational Stage

    The stage from ages two to seven where humans learn to use symbols and language.

  • Concrete Operational Stage

    The stage from approximately ages seven to eleven where children learn to recognize cause and effect relationships in their environment.

  • Formal Operational Stage

    The stage from approximately age 12 onwards where we can think abstractly and use advanced symbolic representation.