Online College Courses for Credit

4 Tutorials that teach Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory
Take your pick:
Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory

Piaget's Cognitive Development Theory

Author: Paul Hannan

This lesson will list, define, and discuss Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development.

See More
Fast, Free College Credit

Developing Effective Teams

Let's Ride
*No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 1 semester credit.

29 Sophia partners guarantee credit transfer.

311 Institutions have accepted or given pre-approval for credit transfer.

* The American Council on Education's College Credit Recommendation Service (ACE Credit®) has evaluated and recommended college credit for 27 of Sophia’s online courses. Many different colleges and universities consider ACE CREDIT recommendations in determining the applicability to their course and degree programs.

Terms to Know
Concrete Operational Stage

The stage from approximately ages seven to eleven where children learn to recognize cause and effect relationships in their environment.

Formal Operational Stage

The stage from approximately age 12 onwards where we can think abstractly and use advanced symbolic representation.

Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development

A four-stage theory of how cognition, thinking, and reasoning develop in and throughout the lifecourse.

Preoperational Stage

The stage from ages two to seven where humans learn to use symbols and language.

Sensorimotor Stage

The stage from birth until about two years old where humans primarily "know" the world through their physical senses of touching, smelling, tasting, seeing, and hearing.