Don't lose your points!
Sign up and save them.


Author: Carlos Morris
See More
Fast, Free College Credit

Developing Effective Teams

Let's Ride
*No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 1 semester credit.

28 Sophia partners guarantee credit transfer.

263 Institutions have accepted or given pre-approval for credit transfer.

* The American Council on Education's College Credit Recommendation Service (ACE Credit®) has evaluated and recommended college credit for 25 of Sophia’s online courses. More than 2,000 colleges and universities consider ACE CREDIT recommendations in determining the applicability to their course and degree programs.


Spanish Speaking Countries

Spanish is the most studied foreign language in the United States. We know for sure that in order to graduate from high school, we must take at least two world languages classes for at least two years.

Today we are going to learn about how many countries in the world speak Spanish? Which is the only country speak Spanish in North America? How many countries speak Spanish in Central America? Is it Spain country located in Europe? Yes or no? How many countries speak Spanish in the Caribbean islands? Does Puerto Rico speak Spanish? How many country speak Spanish in South America? Why does Brazil not speak Spanish? What other language, besides Spanish do they speak? 

There are 20 Spanish speaking countries in the whole world. Of course, Spain it's the mother language which all Latin Americans were taught at school as our primary language. Geographically we know that Spain belongs to Europe Continent and the only country that speaks Spanish. In North America, the only country that speaks Spanish is Mexico. In Central America, there are six countries that speak Spanish, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panamá. In the Caribbean islands three are three countries that speak Spanish, Cuba, Puerto Rico, República Dominicana. In South America, we have nine countries that speak Spanish. Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Perú, Uruguay and Venezuela. Brazil is the only country does not speak Spanish, because they were colonized by Portugal back in April 22, 1500. Since then, their main language is Portuguese.

South America countriesmap

South America countries map

North America country map

North America country map

Central America countries map

Central America countries map

Caribbean Islands countries map

Caribbean Islands countries map