The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

Author: Jessica Jones

2 L 1 Understand animal life cycles

2.L.1.1 Summarize the life cycle of animals:

• Birth • Developing into an adult

• Reproducing • Aging and death

2.L.1.2 Compare life cycles of different animals such as, but not limited to, mealworms, ladybugs, crickets, guppies or frogs.


What are the four stages of a butterfly’s life cycle: egg, larvae, pupa cocoon, butterfly

See More
Introduction to Psychology

Analyze this:
Our Intro to Psych Course is only $329.

Sophia college courses cost up to 80% less than traditional courses*. Start a free trial now.


How does a caterpillar turn into a Butterfly?

Video to help learner get a better understanding of how the caterpillar changes into a butterfly.

Completed at home

Lesson Vocabulary

Vocabulary Words for Review


caterpillar: the larval stage of a butterfly or moth

chrysalis: the hard shell covering the pupa; shaped like an upside down teardrop

larva: the second stage of metamorphosis, during which an insect is wormlike and has new wings

pupa: the third stage of metamorphosis; encased by a chrysalis

metamorphosis: a series of developmental stages often marked by body changes


Butterfly Life Cycle Worksheet/Activity

Worksheet for student to demonstrate their knowledge of the order of the life cycle.
Worksheet will be completed in the classroom

Full Screen

Source: HaveFunTeaching.com