Online College Courses for Credit

3 Tutorials that teach Three Domains/ Five Kingdoms /Taxonomy
Take your pick:
Three Domains/ Five Kingdoms /Taxonomy

Three Domains/ Five Kingdoms /Taxonomy

Author: Nathan Lampson

This lesson presents the organizational categories of living things.

See More
Fast, Free College Credit

Developing Effective Teams

Let's Ride
*No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 1 semester credit.

46 Sophia partners guarantee credit transfer.

299 Institutions have accepted or given pre-approval for credit transfer.

* The American Council on Education's College Credit Recommendation Service (ACE Credit®) has evaluated and recommended college credit for 33 of Sophia’s online courses. Many different colleges and universities consider ACE CREDIT recommendations in determining the applicability to their course and degree programs.



Taxonomy is the science of naming living things.  Domains and kingdoms are categories used to group organisms that are structurally and genetically similar.





These single-celled organisms are known as prokaryotes.


Example: Streptococcus (the bacteria that causes strep throat)



Also single-celled organisms, but live in extreme environments like thermal vents found in the ocean floor.


Example: Sulfolobus (a microorganism that grows in volcanic springs)



Sometimes multicellular, these organisms contain complex cells that have organelles and a nucleus to contain genetic information.


Example: Humans






Multicellular organisms that are able to convert light energy as a part of the food production.


Example: Pine Tree



Multicellular organisms that have complex cell structures and consume other organisms for food.


Example: Tiger



A type of single-celled organism, monera are organisms that are types of archaea and bacteria.


Example: Bacteria



Single-celled organisms that can move independently in water environments.


Example: Amoeba



Multi-celled organisms that have many similarities to organisms in the kingdom plantae but are unable to produce their own food.


Example: Mushrooms


An example of the kingdom Animalia, a tiger.


Three Domains/ Five Kingdoms /Taxonomy