White Blood Cells

White Blood Cells

Author: Derek Chen

Introduction to White Blood Cells. There are 4 types of white blood cells: The Lymphocytes, Monocytes, Neutrophils, Basophils and the Eosinophils.

 Lymphocytes:  There are 2 types of lymphocytes, there is the T and B cells.
The T cells has a ''memory''. That means that they can recognize infections they encountered in the past. They are called T cells because they mature in the Thymus, a specialized organ of the immune system. 

The B cell's function is to make anti-bodies against antigens. The B cells are produced in the Bone marrow.


Monocytes: The Monocytes can mature into macrophages.  They also are produced in the bone marrow. Monocytes respond to inflammation, stress, viral fever and many other things.

Neutrophils: Neutrophils are the first-responder cells. Their functions is to attack bacteria invaders in the body.

Basophils:  They are the response of any allergies and inflammatory reactions . These cells store 2 chemicals that promotes inflammations: The histamine and the heparin.

Eosinophils: They attack the parasites that enters the body. (Ex: Hookworms.)


See More
Introduction to Psychology

Analyze this:
Our Intro to Psych Course is only $329.

Sophia college courses cost up to 80% less than traditional courses*. Start a free trial now.