Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Art History II

Art History II

Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life. NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 26 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


26 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Art History II

Course Description
Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe the basics of art history
  • Recognize movements that have been significant in art history
  • Identify methods used to evaluate artwork
  • Characterize the art and architecture from the Renaissance through modern times
  • Analyze various works of art according to specific criteria
  • Understand the cultural significance of various works of art
  • Recognize characteristics or ways to identify art from different regions of the world

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course.

Reviews

Rating
506 Student Reviews
Rating
by LAQUANA M. on June 16, 2020
There is a LOT to cover in this course, but do not forget that "CTRL + F" will serve you well! It helped me complete the course in 2 days. I suggest downloading and saving each of the 3 glossaries, as well as each of the 3 Unit Tutorials. If you are trying to take advantage of the free courses thru July 31st, then this one I'd suggest!
Rating
by Lauciana m. on June 23, 2020
This class was so fun and I had fun learning about art by, the way I do love art and I passed with 81% not a big deal but, I'm proud of myself. I wish it could have been a 100%.Big ups to Sophia Learning for giving me this free class during this pandemic!
Rating
by Jennie C. on June 10, 2019
Good course, interesting, not dry material
Rating
by Jeanette L. on September 15, 2020
This was the hardest class I have ever taken. They try to trick you with adding a word. How stupid if your trying to learn. I can't believe scholars would be so low. Example- this is a wrong answer on a test- Subjects depicts entertainment landscape or other fleeting pleasures of life, but in the other test this is correct- subject depicts fleeting pleasures of life. Poor form for learning.
Rating
by Marta Z. on May 12, 2019
I really enjoyed this class. Lots of great information. Now, I want to go to Italy to see some of the arts I learned during this class😊 Overall, highly recommend. Thank you Sophia! I wish Sophia had the Bible Studies class available too... I think that was my last course I was be able to complete through Sophia learning system.
Rating
by Michael B. on September 16, 2019
I very much enjoyed this class. Informative and interesting. Great follow up to Art History I. A note for Ian McConnell, whose video tutorials I particularly enjoy, for his personal enrichment of one particular piece of art. In Challenge 2, Unit 1.2.8, The Feast of Saint Nicholas, you described the scene seemingly not understanding the context. The gifts of a doll for the girl and a birch rod for the crying boy are very appropriate, and quite telling, for the Feast of Saint Nicholas, December 6th. In the cultural tradition of the region, on the 5th of December, the eve of the Feast, children put their shoes outside in expectation of Saint Nicholas filling them with gifts as he visits overnight. If a child has been good, they will receive a gift, i.e. the doll, as a reward for their behavior. If a child has been bad, they will receive a switch, i.e. the birch rod, for their parents to beat them with so they will be better behaved in the new year. Enjoy!
Rating
by Sean B. on February 29, 2020
Answers were not aligned with materials in tutorials.
Rating
by Jordan A. on April 24, 2020
Simple and straightforward. I was able to complete the class in three days with a few hours dedicated a day. The challenges are easy but the milestones really require attention to the text. Easy enough though.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Art History II FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required