+

Online College Course

Art History II

Art History II

Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life. NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Art History II

Course Description
Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe the basics of art history
  • Recognize movements that have been significant in art history
  • Identify methods used to evaluate artwork
  • Characterize the art and architecture from the Renaissance through modern times
  • Analyze various works of art according to specific criteria
  • Understand the cultural significance of various works of art
  • Recognize characteristics or ways to identify art from different regions of the world

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course.

Reviews

Rating
292 Student Reviews
Rating
by LAQUANA M. on June 16, 2020
There is a LOT to cover in this course, but do not forget that "CTRL + F" will serve you well! It helped me complete the course in 2 days. I suggest downloading and saving each of the 3 glossaries, as well as each of the 3 Unit Tutorials. If you are trying to take advantage of the free courses thru July 31st, then this one I'd suggest!
Rating
by Lauciana m. on June 23, 2020
This class was so fun and I had fun learning about art by, the way I do love art and I passed with 81% not a big deal but, I'm proud of myself. I wish it could have been a 100%.Big ups to Sophia Learning for giving me this free class during this pandemic!
Rating
by Jennie C. on June 10, 2019
Good course, interesting, not dry material
Rating
by Marta Z. on May 12, 2019
I really enjoyed this class. Lots of great information. Now, I want to go to Italy to see some of the arts I learned during this class😊 Overall, highly recommend. Thank you Sophia! I wish Sophia had the Bible Studies class available too... I think that was my last course I was be able to complete through Sophia learning system.
Rating
by Sean B. on February 29, 2020
Answers were not aligned with materials in tutorials.
Rating
by Jordan A. on April 24, 2020
Simple and straightforward. I was able to complete the class in three days with a few hours dedicated a day. The challenges are easy but the milestones really require attention to the text. Easy enough though.
Rating
by Michael B. on September 16, 2019
I very much enjoyed this class. Informative and interesting. Great follow up to Art History I. A note for Ian McConnell, whose video tutorials I particularly enjoy, for his personal enrichment of one particular piece of art. In Challenge 2, Unit 1.2.8, The Feast of Saint Nicholas, you described the scene seemingly not understanding the context. The gifts of a doll for the girl and a birch rod for the crying boy are very appropriate, and quite telling, for the Feast of Saint Nicholas, December 6th. In the cultural tradition of the region, on the 5th of December, the eve of the Feast, children put their shoes outside in expectation of Saint Nicholas filling them with gifts as he visits overnight. If a child has been good, they will receive a gift, i.e. the doll, as a reward for their behavior. If a child has been bad, they will receive a switch, i.e. the birch rod, for their parents to beat them with so they will be better behaved in the new year. Enjoy!
Rating
by Ryan T. on June 25, 2020
Another great course, had to rest an extra day before I finished the last unit because Postmodern "Art" is just so terrible. Let me be clear, the material is clear and easy to understand, but Postmodern as a style is literally just bad.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.