Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Or call 1-800-341-0327
College Algebra

College Algebra

Sophia's College Algebra course helps you build mastery around linear, non­-linear, and other mathematical functions that include algebraic, graphic, and numeric properties. Demonstrate the application of these concepts through Sophia's scenario­-based activities designed around real world situations that help you apply this knowledge in both personal and professional settings. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 28 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

College Algebra

Sophia's College Algebra course helps you build mastery around linear, non-linear, and other mathematical functions that include algebraic, graphic, and numeric properties. Demonstrate the application of these concepts through Sophia's scenario-based activities designed around real-world situations that help you apply this knowledge in both personal and professional settings.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 18 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 5 Milestone assessments (this are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Perform mathematical functions involving real numbers
  • Apply mathematical concepts to linear equations, inequalities, and series/sequences
  • Apply mathematical concepts to linear representations and systems of linear equations and inequalities
  • Apply mathematical concepts to algebraic expressions and quadratic equations.
  • Apply mathematical concepts to functions and non-linear equations

Reviews

Rating
443 Student Reviews
Rating
by Sophia S. on March 20, 2020
Wow! I’ve been literally hiding from taking this course because I always believed that my brain would never understand and get through college algebra. I avoided algebra after the tenth grade and took alternative math classes. In college, I waited until the very last semester to take algebra and failed it. The professor straight up told me that I’m not made to understand math... adults dropped his class because he made so many of us feel inadequate. This class was the only thing keeping me from having my official degree and I’m so proud I passed it. It was challenging for me and took me a month; but the feeling of actually understanding the material and knowing how to apply formulas is amazing! My favorite tutor, Anthony Varela, explained better than ANY math teacher I’ve ever had. Sad that I spent thousands before on two college algebra classes when I could’ve just taken this class for a fraction of the price with someone who explains WELL and doesn’t make a student feel bad.
Rating
by Curtis G. on February 6, 2017
It was HARD, but i made it through.
Rating
by Hannah H. on October 10, 2015
I have no complaints for this course! It was my first one and I thought it was great!
Rating
by Nathan T. on November 24, 2016
Overall, great learning tool. My only complaint is that many of the video tutorials did not go in depth enough to complete the challenges. The challenge questions would be similar to problems worked out in the videos, but would have an added degree of difficulty that was hard to figure out on my own; and many times I couldn't figure it out at all. Otherwise I had a great experience with this.
Rating
by Calin B. on August 1, 2019
This is a complex course and class. Do not think you will complete in 1-2 days. I took notes and watched the videos because I did algebra long time ago. Video lectures are just enough. The teachers are easy to understand. The final was not very challenging. However, the 4th and 5th milestone final are not easy. The 5th milestone final is hard. You can fail if you procrastinate and bot paying attention. So, long course, a lot of formulas. Take time and notes. This is not a course to do it in Starbucks. It needs a lot of attention. Good luck. Make sure you pray as well!!!
Rating
by Grant K. on January 19, 2018
This was a great option for someone who has a decent knowledge base of the subject. The tutorial videos were mostly good, but some didn't address the challenge questions very well. If I hadn't been practicing algebra for awhile, I think it would have been a big challenge.
Rating
by Kyra J. on October 5, 2017
It was a great course, perfect for those who need a single credit course and don't want to dump their wallets. The tutorials were *mostly* helpful, you get what you put into the course. I would highly recommend this course. I had to get outside tutoring for some of the concepts, but for the most part it was a great course!
Rating
by ALICE F. on December 29, 2017
this course was okay would be better with better tutorials showing you how to actually solve some of the problems with the current tutorials I had a difficult time with some areas because they didn't help me learn how to solve some of the problems

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.