+

Online College Course

Environmental Science

Environmental Science

Sophia's Environmental Science course will help you develop an understanding of the scientific principles and processes that shape our environment, as well as the impact of human activities. You will apply knowledge of a wide range of environmental issues and policies in context, exploring topics such as natural resources, endangered species, pollution, and climate change. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 30 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Environmental Science

Course Description
Sophia's Environmental Science course teaches you about human impacts on the natural world. You will apply knowledge of a wide range of environmental issues in context, exploring topics such as natural resources, endangered species, pollution, and climate change.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 4 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe environmental science
  • Use and interpret graphs and charts
  • Apply the principles of earth science, ecology, and conservation
  • Identify the impacts of development, agriculture, and waste
  • Analyze environmental issues, policies, and solutions

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
477 Student Reviews
Rating
by Lauryn S. on June 22, 2020
From a Christian perspective, a lot of the info about the big bang and evolution is inaccurate, but overall, it was a relatively easy course and I finished it in a short amount of time. I probably could have done the whole thing in a day.
Rating
by Erik G. on April 27, 2020
Thanks Sophia, great course overall. (FYI: Missing PDF for Unit 4 tutorials)
Rating
by C L. on June 10, 2020
it is a sad trend that most of the questions are out to try and trick you.
Rating
by Ksenia E. on June 10, 2020
Course is very educational however milestone questions are not accurately developed which misrepresents the concepts of the challenges. I think some of these milestone questions have to be seriously revised and rewritten for future students sake.
Rating
by Damon B. on May 20, 2020
90 minutes is not a lot time to complete the final milestone assignment. The Final Milestone should be 120 minutes like the other milestone assignments. Please consider changing this requests so students will have more time to complete the final milestone.
Rating
by J'Nae R. on April 30, 2020
It was very simple for me to understand. Only thing I struggled with were the trick questions because the article would say something different than the question was asking but OVERALL this was a great SIMPLE course! Completed it in 2 days!
Rating
by Amanda G. on April 29, 2020
The questions on the milestones were confusing.
Rating
by Patrick W. on May 9, 2020
Some of the questions seemed to be geared towards being more subjective than educational. You have 4 right answers and you have to decide which one is the "most correct". I found the course interesting and it certainly taught something worth learning, but when more than a few questions rely on a "gotcha" moment, it feels cheap more than anything.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.