+

Online College Course

Foundations of College Algebra

Foundations of College Algebra

Sophia's Foundations of College Algebra course builds foundational algebraic and problem solving skills needed to succeed in a college-level algebra course. You will build your understanding of linear and quadratic relationships, and apply these concepts to real world situations through scenario-based activities. Full Description

– credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 8 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

TAKE THIS COURSE FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Foundations of College Algebra

Course Description
Sophia's Foundations of College Algebra course builds foundational algebraic and problem solving skills needed to succeed in a college-level algebra course. You will build your understanding of linear and quadratic relationships, and apply these concepts to real world situations through scenario-based activities.

Grading & Assessments

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 6 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 2 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Simplify and evaluate numerical expressions
  • Solve linear equations and inequalities
  • Interpret slope, intercepts, and graphs of lines
  • Simplify and multiply exponents and polynomials
  • Factor polynomial expressions
  • Solve quadratic equations
  • Perform operations on complex numbers

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
158 Student Reviews
Rating
by Rhonda C. on April 7, 2020
I am 42 years old and have been wanting to get a degree, but I was skeptical of being able to do Algebra after being out of school 25 years...thanks for being here for people like me!
Rating
by Starr Q. on May 20, 2020
I am horrible at math. This is the first time I have understood these concepts. The explanations are clear and easy to follow!
Rating
by Joshua Y. on April 4, 2020
I went in reverse, since I already completed the College Algebra course, but I wanted to check out this Foundations course to see how similar it was. I feel that the material in this Foundations course overlaps with much of the full College Algebra syllabus, and it would be a great warm-up to prepare students who have forgotten concepts like determining slope, factoring, and imaginary numbers. The full course will go a bit more in depth in these concepts, but I feel that students will be well-prepared to tackle them if they start here.
Rating
by Todd M. on April 8, 2020
Good refresher to re-build a little muscle, covered all of pre-algebra and most of Algebra 1 HS courses. Will definitely prevent more time-consuming errors in advanced algebra by shaking the rust off early.
Rating
by Jesse W. on March 25, 2020
Great class to take for practice before you take MAT104.
Rating
by Elijah M. on May 6, 2020
Wonderful course! Made me feel much more confident in my abilities to move on to the college level course.
Rating
by Matthew L. on May 11, 2020
Happy to be done with this class. I'm a mid career adult trying to finish a degree I should have done A LONG time ago. I have always been intimidated by math, and being out of school for a couple of decades only expounded that. It starts out fairly straight forward, but then jumps into topics that don't seem to have any correlation to previous items. I would have liked to seen a larger breakdown into the "how and why" of some of these equations, but again, I haven't looked at this stuff for 20 years, so I probably should have remembered some of it. All in all, an achievable accomplishment if you apply yourself.
Rating
by Renatta G. on May 7, 2020
The math was easy but also hard at the same time but I wad able to go at my own pace which is great

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.