Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

The Essentials of Managing Conflict

The Essentials of Managing Conflict

The Essentials of Managing Conflict course will provide foundational knowledge about managing and resolving conflict in your personal and professional life. It will define conflict, explore the types and causes of conflict, examine the stages of a conflict, consider various conflict styles, and differentiate between various conflict resolution techniques. Full Description

1 semester credit

  • 19 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


19 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

The Essentials of Managing Conflict

Course Description
The Essentials of Managing Conflict course will provide foundational knowledge about managing and resolving conflict in your personal and professional life. It will define conflict, explore the types and causes of conflict, examine the stages of a conflict, consider various conflict styles, and differentiate between various conflict resolution techniques.

Assessments & Grading

This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 3 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 1 Milestone assessment (this is like a test) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Understand the key components of conflict
  • Recognize examples of the various types of conflict in context
  • Identify the stages of conflict in context
  • Define the five conflict styles
  • Apply the five conflict styles in context
  • Understand how culture can impact conflict
  • Recognize key aspects of the various conflict resolution processes
  • Differentiate between the various conflict resolution processes in context

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Rating
by raymond f. on July 7, 2020
great material in this course
Rating
by Frank John K. on July 27, 2020
I thought it was a bit unfair that the one and only milestone is worth 3x as much as the challenge questions. I got 3 questions wrong on the milestone and it dropped my whole grade by 10 points! That is very disappointing because I had 100% before starting the exam.
Rating
by DONNA R. on July 11, 2020
Excellent course. Would recommend it to anyone. This helps you define conflicts and learn the various ways they can be resolved. I certainly have no "conflict" with this course!
Rating
by Taylor W. on December 1, 2020
IT WAS VERY EASY. I LITERALLY FINISHED THE ENTIRE COURSE IN LIKE 3HOURS, WITH ME HAVING A NEWBORN BABY! I'VE USED SOPHIA LEARNING SO FAR FOR 4 COURSES AND I LOVE IT.
Rating
by Jane F. on July 10, 2020
This course was amazingly quick to do, possibly because it was only one credit. I found it interesting and insightful, having just read the book Difficult Conversations, which this reminded me of.
Rating
by Antonette D. on July 11, 2020
Easy to do.
Rating
by Jennifer E. on July 10, 2020
Good course, easy to understand and navigate.
Rating
by Ryan C. on July 11, 2020
This was great tool in helping me fascilitate mybachelors degree...

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO The Essentials of Managing Conflict FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required