Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Ancient Greek Philosophers

Ancient Greek Philosophers

Are values relative or absolute? What is truth? The ancient Greek philosophers were among the first to ask fundamental questions about human existence, and this course provides an overview of key figures such as Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle and examines their role in shaping history and society. The course will also apply philosophical lenses to analyze some of life’s "big questions" with new depth and perspective. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 24 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


24 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Ancient Greek Philosophers

Course Description
Are values relative or absolute? What is truth? The ancient Greek philosophers were among the first to ask fundamental questions about human existence, and Sophia's Ancient Greek Philosophers course provides an overview of key figure such as Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle, and examines their role in shaping history and society. The course will also apply philosophical lenses to analyze some of life's "big questions" with new depth and perspective.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 4 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 1 Milestone assessment (this is like a test) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Recognize the value of the study of philosophy and its application to everyday life
  • Identify the nature and significance of the major branches of philosophical inquiry
  • Understand the general philosophical positions and arguments of key ancient Greek philosophers
  • Understand the impact that ancient philosophical theories have had on history and society
  • Apply good philosophical logic, reasoning, and critical thinking skills
  • Compare and contrast various philosophical approaches to essential philosophical questions
  • Apply philosophical approaches to real world situations

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1784 Student Reviews
Rating
by Melissa M. on September 20, 2020
The final milestone was difficult. Although I studied I barely passed. I had 100 % before taking the final.
Rating
by KeyShaun S. on September 20, 2020
Very intensive course but quality information presented.
Rating
by Catherine C. on September 20, 2020
The content was well constructed, and very informative. The pictures provided however, are too large to be viewed on a standard desktop.
Rating
by Joseph S. on September 19, 2020
This class would have been easier with a one on one approach but the way it was written and explained made learning some what easier.
Rating
by Rachel L. on September 19, 2020
Very interesting material.
Rating
by Marcellus y. on September 18, 2020
awesome course!
Rating
by Rickelia W. on September 18, 2020
I have taken about 10 Sophia courses. I found this one to be the most difficult of them all. I really struggled with grasping either this particular course or Philosophy in general.
Rating
by Emma D. on September 18, 2020
This was a very good introduction to the foundations of Philosophy. I've never taken a philosophy course before, so these were concepts I'd never experienced and information of people I knew very little about prior. The course was very basic and not challenging to complete--in fact, the course could be a little more rigorous--but I won't complain! It fit in nicely with my full-time work schedule and otherwise busy life, and I actually do feel enriched by learning what I did (philosophy is a pretty interesting topic, and often very pleasing to the soul). Very much recommended :)

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Ancient Greek Philosophers FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required