+

Online College Course

Art History II

Art History II

Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life. NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Art History II

Course Description
Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe the basics of art history
  • Recognize movements that have been significant in art history
  • Identify methods used to evaluate artwork
  • Characterize the art and architecture from the Renaissance through modern times
  • Analyze various works of art according to specific criteria
  • Understand the cultural significance of various works of art
  • Recognize characteristics or ways to identify art from different regions of the world

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course.

Reviews

Rating
292 Student Reviews
Rating
by Evan B. on July 7, 2020
I Have a crush and her name is sophia!
Rating
by Ryan F. on July 7, 2020
similar to Art I. I was able to work through the class in two days.
Rating
by Melissa W. on July 7, 2020
This course is either interesting or not depending on a person's interest in art. The course was challenging, yet not difficult if the individual pays attention.
Rating
by Ryan F. on July 7, 2020
This class was very helpful in teaching me about the amazing different art periods!
Rating
by Sandra B. on July 6, 2020
It was easy to complete. If there were more classes I could take under Sophia I would do so.
Rating
by Liceth S. on July 6, 2020
I'm not an Art history buff, but the course was very informative and it was easy to navigate through the course
Rating
by Regina T. on July 6, 2020
Enjoyed learning about the different concepts of Art
Rating
by Elizabeth C. H. on July 5, 2020
The overall course provides substantive exploration of art history. Interesting discussion arises among a wide variety of art genre. Some sections are more Christian focused and anti-Semitic. Some sections contain too much nudity. An enhancement of the course would be to limit these features, while covering art through history. The course is overall a good course.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.