Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Art History II

Art History II

Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life. NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 15 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Sophia's Art History II course helps you master fundamentals of art history from the Renaissance to modern times. In this course, you will explore art exhibits, analyze buildings and architecture, and examine art in everyday life.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (this are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Describe the basics of art history
  • Recognize movements that have been significant in art history
  • Identify methods used to evaluate artwork
  • Characterize the art and architecture from the Renaissance through modern times
  • Analyze various works of art according to specific criteria
  • Understand the cultural significance of various works of art
  • Recognize characteristics or ways to identify art from different regions of the world

NOTE: Art History I is not a pre-requisite for this course.

Reviews

Rating
42 Student Reviews
Rating
by Ben B. on November 30, 2019
Great course!
Rating
by Tyeka D. on November 19, 2019
Neat class, however, some milestones are very challenging.
Rating
by Nicolo P. on November 8, 2019
Interesting, well made, and easy!
Rating
by Lori P. on November 4, 2019
Interesting course, need to read the material but was able to pass course without difficulty....
Rating
by Nicole W. on November 1, 2019
Not too difficult, very time consuming. I needed to take for creds toward Capella, so I had to complete within a specific time. I learned some interesting concepts in this class. Art History 1 & 2 go hand in hand. I recommend them both.
Rating
by Shedricka T. on October 29, 2019
Great course! My greatest suggestion will be to take down names of author and their body of work and you will pass strong every time.
Rating
by Hannah M. on October 29, 2019
This course is not as enjoyable as I had hoped and I would not recommend it unless you want a fairly easy three credits. It seemed to focus unnecessarily on nudes and naked paintings in the course and in the quizzes. Another thing to note, there is only one instructor and the Sophia Tutorial (except for a few challenges at the end). The instructor that they have did not seem very interested in his topic at hand so I very rarely watched his videos. I also found the organization of the history aspect confusing and do not feel like I have a good overall view of that aspect. It is likely though that if I had taken more time with this course I would have a better understanding of the overall timeline. Overall, I was disappointed and plan to study art on my own as I had done before. At least I have three credits from the course though.
Rating
by Kim B. on October 28, 2019
This was a very interesting course. I learned a great deal about art in the 1 week it took me to complete the material. The videos are awesome and make it a bit easier to retain the large amount of information.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Art History II FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required