Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Communication at Work

Communication at Work

Sophia's Communication at Work course is designed to prepare you for successful workplace communication by providing a background on its components and methods, then exploring oral and written forms in depth. You will practice composing professional written communication for a specific purpose and audience. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 2 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


2 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Communication at Work

Course Description
Sophia's Communication at Work course is designed to prepare you for successful workplace communication by providing a background on its components and methods, then exploring oral and written forms in depth. You will practice composing professional written communication for a specific purpose and audience. Additionally, you will learn about tools for workplace collaboration and efficiency, and how to determine the best meeting and productivity tools for a particular professional context. 

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 12 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 1 Touchstone assessment (this is a written assignment) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
By the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify the various purposes, uses, and stages of communication
  • Compare and contrast the different methods of communication
  • Align tone and language to a specific audience
  • Recognize the key elements of oral communication
  • Identify appropriate scopes, topics, and resources for professional presentations
  • Examine strategies for improving professional presentations
  • Recognize the key elements of written communication
  • Identify tone, audience, purpose, and structure in professional writing
  • Deliver a coherent and professional written message using an appropriate medium
  • Recognize the various group dynamics that can occur within an organization
  • Identify methods of problem-solving and goal-setting in professional group settings
  • Select the appropriate tools for scheduling and communicating time-related tasks
Rating
by Briana B. on January 22, 2021
Very convenient and informational.
Rating
by LeAsia S. on January 20, 2021
This course was a joy to guide through, very informative
Rating
by Patrick M. on January 20, 2021
Great course that I would highly recommend taking. There is much to learn and this fits right in with other Sophia courses.
Rating
by Alisha K. on January 20, 2021
Loved taking this course however touchstone scored fairly low. They have really high expectations of the touchstone. Did not appreciate the score I received. The milestone and challenge questions were very tricky too.
Rating
by Joseph H. on January 18, 2021
ezy
Rating
by Debra S. on January 18, 2021
Got points taken off for addressing my email to row men instead of a woman and a man but the instructions didn’t say to address one man and one woman.
Rating
by Katrina S. on January 18, 2021
Very informative and has real life, instant application. Highly recommended :)
Rating
by Corina F. on January 18, 2021
I learned a lot of information even in a short time. I look forward to my next class.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Communication at Work FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required