Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Conflict Resolution

Conflict Resolution

Sophia's Conflict Resolution course helps you gain mastery of the basic concepts of conflict resolution and how to apply these concepts in real world situations and your own lives. In this course, you will explore key theories and skills associated with conflict resolution in a variety of contexts, including organizational, intercultural, family and interpersonal. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 26 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Using problem­-based learning and real­-world situations, this course teaches you how to apply knowledge in practical and relevant contexts. Our Many Ways™ learning model feature multiple teachers and various instructional styles for each concept so you can find a style that meshes with your individual learning preference. This rich, immersive experience helps you better understand and retain information, for an all­-around smarter way to learn. Sophia's Conflict Resolution Course helps you gain mastery of the basic concepts of conflict resolution and how to apply these concepts in real world situations and your own lives. In this Course, you will explore key theories and skills associated with conflict resolution in a variety of contexts, including organizational, intercultural, family and interpersonal. In Sophia's Conflict Resolution Course, you will complete a series of assessments comprised of 18 Challenge assessments and 6 Milestone assessments tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Describe Conflict Resolution and Theories of Conflict.
  • Examine the Fundamentals of Conflict Order.
  • Develop Conflict Resolution Skills.
  • Interpret the Role of Culture and Gender in Conflict Resolution.
  • Analyze Group Conflict.
  • Apply the Strategies of Conflict Resolution.

Reviews

Rating
549 Student Reviews
Rating
by Kevin S. on January 31, 2016
I prefer more transcripts because I retain by reading; however, this was a great course and handled some touchy subjects in conflict with a good approach.
Rating
by Andrew Z. on January 4, 2018
This is a good course for everyone to take. A problem I had with this course (and other Sophia courses) is that some questions and answers are worded such that they can be interpreted in more than one way which led to a few incorrect answers. The course material is informative and easily navigated.
Rating
by Comfort K. on February 6, 2018
Very interesting course but mind bugling and intriguing! I have enjoyed it greatly!!
Rating
by Brianna S. on March 31, 2017
The videos and lessons were very clear and easy to understand. Also, Sophia support coaches are top notch! My only complaints would be that the content didn't touch on more difficult conflicts. Most of the examples seemed pretty straightforward/easy to resolve. Also, some of the answers to the challenges/milestones seemed to me like they could have reasonably gone different directions, depending on the taker's perspective. Besides that, this course was great. I love the practical life skills that can be applied in many different contexts. Thanks so much!
Rating
by Megan S. on October 16, 2015
The course was excellent. I learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the fomatting of the the course (i.e. the use of videos to teach the content), as well as the working through examples to learn the material. However, technical difficulties were sometimes a hindrance to this process, particularly during my ID Verification Milestone, which is the only issue that would make me hesitant to take another course like this. In this case, the third party proctoring site failed to effectively facilitate my Milestone and answer questions in a timely fashion, which significantly impeded my completion time. There also does not appear to be good communication/remediation processes between this third party and Sophia. However, I enjoyed the course provided through Sophia and the content and would recommend it to others.
Rating
by NICOLE P. on January 30, 2018
I have had now 2 bad experiences with the proctoru. Both times it has taken so long to set up that I miss my exam time. My test was set up for 1:15 today and did not get started until 2:08! I think that is disrespectful to my time. If it takes that long you should start setting up 15 minutes before the exam is set to start at least.
Sophia replied on January 31, 2018

Hi Nicole. Coingratulations on your recent course completion. We are sorry to hear of your negative experience with ProctorU. We do monitor those issues and work directly with ProctorU''s leadership team in an effort to improve the experience for all students. Thank you for your feedback.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Kayla L. on February 8, 2018
This course was really informative and I learned a lot from it.
Rating
by Christi M. on December 31, 2016
i would prefer having the reading material and not just lectures to listen to. I would have done better

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Conflict Resolution FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required