+

Online College Course

Foundations of English Composition

Foundations of English Composition

Sophia's Foundations of English Composition course teaches foundational writing skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level English Composition course. You will learn how to construct sound sentences, craft effective paragraphs, and write cohesive compositions, developing your writing skills through all stages of the writing process. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 19 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Foundations of English Composition

Course Description
Sophia's Foundations of English Composition course teaches foundational writing skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level English Composition course. You will learn how to construct sound sentences, craft effective paragraphs, and write cohesive compositions, developing your writing skills through all stages of the writing process.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 8 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 2 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 2 Touchstone assessments (these are writing assignments) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Write Effective Sentences and Paragraphs
  • Write Effective Essays

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
257 Student Reviews
Rating
by Angela V. on May 25, 2018
The content of the course was thorough. However, the bulk of the tutorials were videos with no option to read them. I prefer the written Sophia tutorials. The videos in this course were from the same person and her presentation style, along with her constant hand gestures were distracting. It would have been more helpful to have a powerpoint presentation showing relevant information instead of having the teacher in the center of the videos.
Rating
by Praise K. on February 25, 2020
This is a great course to take before Eng Comp 1. You have to write a 3-5 page essay, but they talk you through it and give you an example. The graders are very helpful and fair. It definitely prepares you for Eng Comp 1. A little more guidance/teaching on citations would have been helpful though.
Rating
by Remington D. on April 29, 2020
I've taken many Sophia courses and this is the worst one so far. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this course. Whereas I thought it would be a nice introduction before jumping into English Composition 1 & 2, it was significantly less organized and the assignments weren't ideal. Some of the feedback I received was unclear or vague, and it was ultimately not very helpful. I'd encourage most people to skip this class and instead just take English Composition 1 (and English Composition 2 after that). Those both cover the same information but the pacing and structure of the course is significantly better.
Rating
by James S. on November 25, 2019
Simple enough challenge section, but the Touchstones take more time than Milestones. Also, the Sample Touchstones are inconsistent with the instructions provided to complete the Touchstones - it's both confusing and frustrating to be docked points when expectations are contradictory.
Sophia replied on November 26, 2019

Hi James - Congratulations on your successful course completion and earning the credit toward you degree. We do encourage students to contact us for clarification anytime during the course. That includes reviewing Touchstone directions and your approach to the assignment. We hope to see you again in a future course with Sophia.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Angela A. on December 3, 2019
The overall material of the course was fine. The last assignment was graded harshly. This is the second to last course for my BSN and the first time I have received anything lower than a 94% on a paper. I would suggest a writing assignment that carried less weight before the final paper. This way there is at least a reference point and discussion about expectations. I think it would also teach me better as to what I need to improve on. Nonetheless, the course was fine, that is my only complaint. Thanks
Rating
by Corinne T. on January 24, 2020
This was a great class to take especially if you've been out of school for a while. A lot of the information was review but some things that I didn't understand when I was in high-school, made more sense as an adult. The class went very quick and I finished in 3 weeks.
Rating
by Katie G. on August 11, 2017
Easy class. There needs to be edits made to correct grammatical errors.
Sophia replied on August 11, 2017

Hi Katie— Congratulations on your successful course completion! While we can assure you that we have a thorough editing process in place, we invite you to reach out to our Learning Coach team if you ever have concerns about the course material. Congratulations again on completing the course!

— Chloe S. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Jameka T. on September 14, 2017
The content in the course was helpful in reading & learning, but I wish there was more structure practice to assist in forming a full essay. It would've been helpful with practicing the formatting, because this program went from creating a paragraph to a full essay. There should have been a bit more of a transition between the two.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.