Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Foundations of Statistics

Foundations of Statistics

Sophia's Foundations of Statistics course teaches foundational skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level Statistics course. You will learn about fundamental concepts in statistics such as central tendency, variation, correlation, probability, and statistical analysis. Full Description

2 semester credits

  • 19 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


19 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Foundations of Statistics

Course Description
Sophia's Foundation of Statistics course teaches foundational skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level Statistics course. You will learn about fundamental concepts in statistics such as central tendency, variation, correlation, probability, and statistical analysis.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 6 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 2 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Evaluate statistical methods
  • Calculate probability, measures of central tendency, and measures of variation
  • Interpret descriptive and inferential statistics
  • Apply statistical concepts in context

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
449 Student Reviews
Rating
by Ashley G. on December 26, 2017
I am one who is very intimidated by math and I was quite nervous about this course. But I am very glad I took it because I passed and it gave me confidence to try other courses that may challenge me.
Rating
by Kerry-Ann G. on April 4, 2019
The class was HARD but i passed.. AMEN!!!
Rating
by Gordon B. on June 9, 2017
This course gives a good foundation in statistics. It was hard going in the beginning but by the end I understood what was happening. The only unfortunate part is you're not allowed any scratch paper in the exam. For those of you who like to think with pencil and paper when it comes to numbers, the exam is not going to be fun for you.
Sophia replied on June 9, 2017

Hi Gordon— Congratulations on your successful course completion! You are definitely allowed scratch paper during the final exam; it sounds like there may have been a miscommunication with the proctor, and we apologize for that. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the course overall, and hope to see you in a future course!

— Chloe S. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Katie G. on August 11, 2017
Good class. Explained the concepts in a simple way.
Rating
by Eric S. on August 23, 2017
The Sophia Learning experience was unique. I taught me in a way that I could relate to hands on training. It was much better than the usual research and study method that is traditional used.
Rating
by Ebone T. on May 30, 2019
Note: Print off practice test results it helps when taking exams.
Rating
by Robert G. on January 22, 2019
To be completely honest, a lot of the tutorials were just plain confusing. A quick google search or other online tutorials were needed quite often. But easy enough... completed in a few days.
Rating
by Natalie C. on February 10, 2018
The content did not match the testing/exam. It was very hard to decipher what was going on.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Foundations of Statistics FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required