Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Introduction to Psychology

Introduction to Psychology

Sophia's Introduction to Psychology course helps you understand the basic principles of psychology and scientific methods. In this course, you will study a variety of topics, including the brain, learning and memory, personality, social influence, child and lifespan development, and psychopathology. You will also have the ability to demonstrate the application of these psychology topics to everyday situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 37 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


37 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Introduction to Psychology

Course Description
Sophia's Introduction to Psychology course helps you understand the basic principles of psychology and scientific methods. In this course, you will study a variety of topics, including the brain, learning and memory, personality, social influence, child and lifespan development, and psychopathology. You will also have the ability to demonstrate the application of these psychology topics to everyday situations.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 18 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 6 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Identify foundational philosophies, therapies, and specializations in the field of psychology
  • Analyze developmental psychology across the lifespan
  • Identify theories of personality and personality assessment
  • Articulate scientific research methodology and analytical approaches in the field of psychology
  • Articulate how brain and psychological factors impact mental health and behavior
  • Classify psychological disorders and impact on well-being

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
2734 Student Reviews
Rating
by Barbara K. on October 11, 2015
This class has a lot of content. If I was not able to review concepts from the classroom during the Final Milestone I think it would've been too overwhelming. I did not always like the 'situational' questions over material; I would prefer to be tested on the concepts directly. A few times I felt like the lectures and the questions were not congruent. Thank you, Barbara Keener
Rating
by Shelby V. on January 28, 2017
At first, I was very frustrated by this course. Once I got a hang of how I needed to word things and what I needed to pay attention to it became relatively easy and fun!
Rating
by Adam B. on October 11, 2015
Too many "fill in the blank" questions on milestones. They are counter-productive being that a student has to match their answer with the available answer dictionary. No other course that I have encountered (5 total) on Sophia has these kinds of questions on milestone tests.
Sophia replied on October 12, 2015

Adam -- congratulations on your successful course completion! Your feedback is valuable and we appreciate hearing from you.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Madi B. on May 22, 2020
Finished with a 97%. All answers are in the book. The tests are 19-22 questions long normally and you have an hour and twenty minutes to complete them. Very easy and informative!
Rating
by Nicole B. on October 15, 2015
Need to work on some of the tests. I found a lot of mistakes in them. Also a lot of spelling errors in the notes.
Sophia replied on October 15, 2015

Nicole -- Congratulations on your successful course completion! We appreciate the feedback you shared as you went through the course and look forward to having you in a future course with us.

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Mandalyn A. on April 25, 2020
First of all, I would like to thank Sophia for being "free" due to Covid-19. I have been studying through another not credited website to finish this class but because of this opportunity, I was able to utilize the knowledge I already had to complete this course as a prerequisite to my CCAF. As a military member, this is much appreciated. This site is easy to use and I will be starting another class today!
Rating
by Rhonda B. on March 12, 2019
Very interesting and informative. I learned alot about many disorders, behaviors, and different types developmental stages. Understanding more about depression and other mental illnesses. I would be interested in taking a course that involves the Psychological study of criminals if it is ever offered.
Rating
by Katie H. on June 6, 2018
Completed in a week! Great course!!!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Introduction to Psychology FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required