Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Or call 1-800-341-0327
Introduction to Statistics

Introduction to Statistics

Sophia's Introduction to Statistics course helps you gain mastery of the basic principles of statistics. In this course, you will learn a variety of topics, including statistical principles, research methodologies, data analysis, and hypothesis testing. You will also have the opportunity to demonstrate the application of these topics in statistics to everyday situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 27 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
Take this 3-Credit College Course FREE!*
* For real. No strings attached. This college course is 100% free and is worth 3 semester credits.
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Introduction to Statistics

This Introduction to Statistics Course uses problem-based learning that shows you how to apply your knowledge in real-world situations. Our Many Ways™ learning model feature multiple teachers and various instructional styles for each concept so you can find a style that meshes with your individual learning preference. This rich, immersive experience helps you better understand and retain information, for an all-around smarter way to learn.

Sophia's Introduction to Statistics Course helps you gain mastery of the basic principles of statistics. In this course you will learn a variety of topics, including statistical principles, research methodologies, data analysis, and hypothesis testing. You will also have the opportunity to demonstrate the application of these topics in statistics to everyday situations.

In Sophia's Introduction to Statistics Course, you will complete a series of assessments comprised of 18 Challenge assessments and 6 Milestone assessments tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Understand and identify key principles of statistical reasoning and statistical methods.
  • Apply concepts of data and data representation in a real world context.
  • Calculate variation and central tendency and recognize patterns in distributions.
  • Apply concepts of probability and risk in real life scenarios.
  • Determine correlation and causation and distinguish between them in context.
  • Apply concepts of hypothesis testing and utilize t-tests, z-tests, and ANOVA in real world situations.

Reviews

Rating
720 Student Reviews
Rating
by zeinabou T. on March 27, 2020
it was an interesting study,thanks for the experience
Rating
by kashena a. on March 26, 2020
Not as bad as I thought it would be. The tutorials helped a lot and well as the practice milestones...those saved me!!
Rating
by Amie K. on March 26, 2020
Very difficult. In-depth stats, more than most people will need. Not an intro class. It took me the longest to complete this, and I enjoy math.
Rating
by Kenya P. on March 26, 2020
While the class was informational, I would rather take the class with Strayer; where I can debate with other students.
Rating
by Kingsley Ngangeh Y. on March 26, 2020
This is the first course I have taken here at Sophia.The course is simply amazing.The experience has been wonderful.Thanks for making the course free in these very special times.I look forward to doing more courses.I am very thankful to everyone who is making all of this possible.
Rating
by Stephen R. on March 23, 2020
Only giving this a 4 out of five stars because it was just so hard, but still good and quick.
Rating
by Sheri V. on March 23, 2020
Super hard but rewarding.
Rating
by Lisa S. on March 22, 2020
I want to personal thank Sophia Learning for giving me an opportunity to complete my Bachelors Degree. This course was difficult for me because my strength is not in Math equations. The entire staff at Sophia Learning are excellent and they really do care about the students. Thank you for being so compassionate and always putting the students first. I only have my Capstone to complete and then I will be graduating from Thomas Edison State University with my Bachelors Degree. Thanks to Sophia for ordering courses the fraction of the tuition and it has really saved me a lot of money. Its great that I was able to transfer all the 7 classes I took with Sophia to TESU. How can I ever thank you...I will definitely let my colleagues, family and friends know about Sophia Training. Thank you!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.