Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Ancient Greek Philosophers

Ancient Greek Philosophers

Are values relative or absolute? What is truth? The ancient Greek philosophers were among the first to ask fundamental questions about human existence, and this course provides an overview of key figures such as Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle and examines their role in shaping history and society. The course will also apply philosophical lenses to analyze some of life’s “big questions “ with new depth and perspective. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 16 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Humanities

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Are values relative or absolute? What is truth? The ancient Greek philosophers were among the first to ask fundamental questions about human existence, and Sophia's Ancient Greek Philosophers course provides an overview of key figure such as Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle, and examines their role in shaping history and society. The course will also apply philosophical lenses to analyze some of life's "big questions" with new depth and perspective.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 4 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 1 Milestone assessment (this is like a test) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Recognize the value of the study of philosophy and its application to everyday life
  • Identify the nature and significance of the major branches of philosophical inquiry
  • Understand the general philosophical positions and arguments of key ancient Greek philosophers
  • Understand the impact that ancient philosophical theories have had on history and society
  • Apply good philosophical logic, reasoning, and critical thinking skills
  • Compare and contrast various philosophical approaches to essential philosophical questions
  • Apply philosophical approaches to real world situations

Reviews

Rating
433 Student Reviews
Rating
by Stacey G. on April 27, 2018
This course was fantastic. Finished in about 3 hours. However, it was challenging. At least I passed.
Rating
by Becky D. on May 3, 2018
I thought overall it was an easy class. If you read the tutorials, it will give you the answers.
Rating
by Denise M. on August 18, 2018
I completed this course in one day. You must do good on the challenges because the milestone is harder and weighted heavier toward your grade. I completed the 4 challenges today, took a nap, cooked dinner, watched a movie, completed the practice and then the milestone. This was a great class option, glad I was able to take it. Thank you!
Rating
by Tamara W. on May 3, 2018
Awesome course, very informative and interesting. I completed in 3 days.
Rating
by Garrett D. on May 1, 2018
Great corse! Love the new set up.
Rating
by Tyler S. on May 2, 2018
easy class went quick!
Rating
by Mariam Q. on June 28, 2018
Interesting, short, educational, doable. I completed it in two days. Certainly hard If you are not paying attention while reading or trying to skim through, or not into philosophy. This course introduces abstract ideas and doesn't have "fun videos" to help you go through it. Personally I enjoyed it. Would love to see more shorter courses like this. I felt like I learned a lot! I can say the same thing for the essentials of conflict management course, which is worth taking even if you didn't care about credits.
Rating
by Ashley S. on August 19, 2018
The course was the best one so far! They redesigned homework so you can view the text while viewing the question - so simple to elaborate and understand!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Ancient Greek Philosophers FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required