Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

College Algebra

College Algebra

Sophia's College Algebra course helps you build mastery around linear, non­-linear, and other mathematical functions that include algebraic, graphic, and numeric properties. Demonstrate the application of these concepts through Sophia's scenario­-based activities designed around real world situations that help you apply this knowledge in both personal and professional settings. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Sophia's College Algebra course helps you build mastery around linear, non-linear, and other mathematical functions that include algebraic, graphic, and numeric properties. Demonstrate the application of these concepts through Sophia's scenario-based activities designed around real-world situations that help you apply this knowledge in both personal and professional settings.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 18 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 5 Milestone assessments (this are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Perform mathematical functions involving real numbers
  • Apply mathematical concepts to linear equations, inequalities, and series/sequences
  • Apply mathematical concepts to linear representations and systems of linear equations and inequalities
  • Apply mathematical concepts to algebraic expressions and quadratic equations.
  • Apply mathematical concepts to functions and non-linear equations

Reviews

Rating
310 Student Reviews
Rating
by Michael Q. on September 20, 2019
exceptional class, wow! very challenging
Rating
by Tertiana S. on September 15, 2019
Not complicated but requires a lot of work.
Rating
by Ryan B. on September 13, 2019
Most of the interest on account calculations are incorrect. They do not take into consideration the additional deposits. The rest of the coursework was not presented well.
Rating
by Edgardo S. on September 12, 2019
Excellent course, easy to follow, great videos that breaks things down really easy. Although I struggle dealing with a few concepts, however, overall I improved from the last time I took this class. I recommend it to anyone. Practice milestones are excellent to improve your progress.
Rating
by Monet F. on September 10, 2019
Great class. No where near easy; challenging in every way.
Rating
by Hannah E. on September 8, 2019
Very nicely made course, had lots or resources and instructors were knowledgeable and easy to understand.
Rating
by Thea M. on August 30, 2019
the woman's videos were not very informative but i really enjoyed the man
Rating
by Cinque W. on August 20, 2019
Very challenging course but great info.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO College Algebra FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required

Or try one of our other college courses: