Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

College Readiness

College Readiness

Sophia's College Readiness course helps you prepare for an excellent higher education experience. By completing this course, you will become oriented to the experience of higher education, develop strategies to perform your best while in school, and create plans to achieve your academic and career goals. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 22 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


22 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

College Readiness

Course Description
Sophia's College Readiness course helps you prepare for an excellent higher education experience. By completing this course, you will become oriented to the experience of higher education, develop strategies to perform your best while in school, and create plans to achieve your academic and career goals.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 8 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes), 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests), and 1 Touchstone (this is a written assignment) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you will be able to:

  • Choose the right course for their needs and interpret the course syllabus to understand success criteria
  • Interact with instructors and peers in a manner that is respectful and constructive to the learning experience
  • Recognize unethical behavior in higher education and avoid plagiarism and cheating
  • Use proven strategies to optimize effectiveness and efficiency as a learner
  • Practice fundamental self-care that is required for academic life
  • Use proven strategies to advance academic skills
  • Set academic goals and create plans to achieve them
  • Set professional goals and create plans to achieve them

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1065 Student Reviews
Rating
by Johnny W. on July 20, 2020
Informative, easy and straightforward course. A must take if you're feeling a little loss. This is college readiness. Class will help. You know all the answers already. Quick and easy course. Can complete in 1-2 days if you really try. Essay at the end but about yourself. Much thanks for the grading and comments to my paper, .Prof. Fasolino.
Rating
by Cesar Josaiah S. on June 12, 2020
This course was very helpful! Although I have already started college prior to taking this course, I have learned valuable information that I can confidentially take with me in my journey of higher education. Sidenote: for those like me who are not great with essays, there will be a narrative nearing the end of this course, 500-700 words.
Rating
by Aaron B. on June 5, 2020
Very useful information, pretty straightforward questions with no trick questions. Essay at the end
Rating
by Jenna R. on May 7, 2020
Very easy, completed it in an hour.
Rating
by Krystyn F. on April 29, 2020
The quarantine allowed me to finish this class in less than 36 hours. Helpful pre-requisite.
Rating
by Shayla R. on March 18, 2020
Super simple and easy course! Highly recommend it if you just need credit hours or even if you are new to college!
Rating
by Tankut T. on May 6, 2020
Wonderful course! Totally recommend it. I thought I submitted my written project (which is not a hard task) and waited for it to be graded for 2 weeks. I couldn't get to the final exam in the meantime. It was totally my mistake. When the written project is submitted final exam is automatically unlocked. Don't do the same mistake! Make sure you submit the written project properly. Other than that, thank you Sophia! wonderful platform, fantastic support...
Rating
by Tammy W. on May 7, 2020
This was my first online class of any kind. I have been out of school 30 years and this was absolutely very enjoyable and detailed..I knew exactly what was expected of me.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO College Readiness FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required