Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Conflict Resolution

Conflict Resolution

Sophia's Conflict Resolution course helps you gain mastery of the basic concepts of conflict resolution and how to apply these concepts in real world situations and your own lives. In this course, you will explore key theories and skills associated with conflict resolution in a variety of contexts, including organizational, intercultural, family and interpersonal. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 30 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


30 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Conflict Resolution

Course Description
Sophia's Conflict Resolution course helps you gain mastery of the basic concepts of conflict resolution and how to apply these concepts in real world situations and your own lives. In this course, you will explore key theories and skills associated with conflict resolution in a variety of contexts, including organizational, intercultural, family and interpersonal. 

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 17 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 6 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Describe conflict resolution and theories of conflict
  • Examine the fundamentals of conflict
  • Develop conflict resolution skills.
  • Interpret the role of culture and gender in conflict resolution.
  • Analyze group conflict.
  • Apply the strategies of conflict resolution

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
2041 Student Reviews
Rating
by Jaclyn R. on September 20, 2020
The course was easy to follow. Real life situations were given to help students relate and retain the information.
Rating
by Krista H. on September 20, 2020
So lengthy!! Took longer than I expected because of the numerous units.
Rating
by Laquisha B. on September 20, 2020
After doing a couple of the challenge test I started to realize how this course really focus on the real world experience.
Rating
by Jaclyn R. on September 19, 2020
Loved that I could do this at my own pace. Lesson material was clear and straightforward so that the milestones were relatively easy. Just need to work on my procrastination.
Rating
by Adonna P. on September 19, 2020
This course has a ton of definitions and minor nuances between terms but Marlene's videos made it all possible. I literally don't think I could have gotten through this course without her instructional videos. If you struggle in this course, try watching those. I learned a good bit that I feel like I can take with me going forward. Overall it was a good experience. The practice quizzes and glossary were very helpful as well. I felt this course had plenty of support resources to aid in learning.
Rating
by Ashlee M. on September 19, 2020
Loved this course! Great tips on how to move towards resolving conflict. Very neutral and unbiased material.
Rating
by Timothy B. on September 19, 2020
Awesome course. Put you into some real world situations to help understand conflict and how to resolve it.
Rating
by Dawn W. on September 19, 2020
I loved this course. The conflict resolution tools I have learned in this course will help me in many aspects of my life. Thanks for such a great class! Marlene an amazing instructor with her animations and connection with the students through the videos. She really helped me to stay engaged and connect to the topic of the course.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Conflict Resolution FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required