Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Foundations of Statistics

Foundations of Statistics

Sophia's Foundations of Statistics course teaches foundational skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level Statistics course. You will learn about fundamental concepts in statistics such as central tendency, variation, correlation, probability, and statistical analysis. Full Description

2 semester credits

  • 19 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


19 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Foundations of Statistics

Course Description
Sophia's Foundation of Statistics course teaches foundational skills that will enable you to be successful in a college level Statistics course. You will learn about fundamental concepts in statistics such as central tendency, variation, correlation, probability, and statistical analysis.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 6 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 2 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Evaluate statistical methods
  • Calculate probability, measures of central tendency, and measures of variation
  • Interpret descriptive and inferential statistics
  • Apply statistical concepts in context

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
449 Student Reviews
Rating
by Ricky W. on September 20, 2020
Great course!
Rating
by Tuiyan R. on September 20, 2020
Hardest course ever!
Rating
by Otavio M. on September 19, 2020
Very good introduction to statistics. It won't make you a data scientist but you will be sadder while reading the news and realizing all of the trivial mistakes made, the exposition and appliance of basic concepts is very well made.
Rating
by Antonio C. on September 16, 2020
Thank you for the course.
Rating
by Lori S. on September 15, 2020
This one was HARD!
Rating
by Sonya F. on September 15, 2020
I took this course as a refresher before taking the required statistics course for my major. I have taken statistics in the past and often professors made it seem overly complicated, Sophia's layout of this course makes remembering and applying the mathematical concepts and theory easy to understand while allowing you to set your own pace. I recommend this course.
Rating
by Brian H. on September 14, 2020
Slightly daunting at first. Once you get used to the terminology, it is similar to other elective courses in relying on the tutorials to pass the quizzes.
Rating
by Jeanette B. on September 13, 2020
Sophia is the best!!!!! do not hesitate to start your journey with Sophia!!

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Foundations of Statistics FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required