Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Human Biology

Human Biology

Sophia's Human Biology course helps you analyze fundamental biological principles from a human perspective. The Human Biology topics include the molecular and cellular basis of life, genetics, organ systems, and the impact of nutrition and exercise on human health. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 25 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Math and Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Using problem­-based learning and real­-world situations, this course teaches you how to apply knowledge in practical and relevant contexts. Our Many Ways™ learning model feature multiple teachers and various instructional styles for each concept so you can find a style that meshes with your individual learning preference. This rich, immersive experience helps you better understand and retain information, for an all­-around smarter way to learn.


This course helps you analyze fundamental biological principles from a human perspective. The Human Biology topics include the molecular and cellular basis of life, genetics, organ systems, and the impact of nutrition and exercise on human health. In Sophia's Human Biology course, you will complete a series of assessments comprised of 18 Challenge assessments and 6 Milestone assessments tied to the following learning outcomes:

  • Describe basic human biology concepts
  • Describe skeletal & muscular systems
  • Articulate Nervous System and Sensory System related to human health
  • Analyze respiratory, circulatory, immune, and digestive systems
  • Describe urinary, endocrine, and reproductive systems
  • Describe genetics and biotechnology and their application

Reviews

Rating
334 Student Reviews
Rating
by Seth H. on September 21, 2019
Great course! I learned a ton!
Rating
by Dart F. on September 19, 2019
Great course, very challenging. Very informational
Rating
by J J. on September 18, 2019
This class covers a lot of information and the tutorial PDF were excellent in helping me remember definitions and parts of the human body! Unit 6 on genetics kicked my butt and I had to review it a few times but overall I learned a lot about the human body!
Rating
by Dana D. on September 15, 2019
I love the way these courses are set up. Easy reading and good testing format!!
Rating
by Bianca A. on September 14, 2019
I would have liked to have known how to change instructors sooner in the course.
Rating
by Ravi Y. on September 13, 2019
The course is very informative about human biology.
Rating
by Brenda S. on September 12, 2019
I loved learning about the human body!
Rating
by Jacqueline M. on September 11, 2019
Interesting course. Would recommend taking if course needed to fulfill requirements. A lot of Terms to remember but the glossary is a big help with each unit as a reference guide. Quizzes are not hard and the wording on some questions within the Milestones are a bit of struggle to find the answer within the Tutorials. Overall not a bad class to take

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Human Biology FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required

Or try one of our other college courses: