Online College Courses for Credit

+
Or call 1-800-341-0327

Online College Course

Introduction to Psychology

Introduction to Psychology

Sophia's Introduction to Psychology course helps you understand the basic principles of psychology and the scientific methods. In this course, you will study a variety of topics, including the brain, learning and memory, personality, social influence, child and lifespan development, and psychopathology. You will also have the ability to demonstrate the application of these psychology topics to everyday situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • Guaranteed to transfer to our 28 partner network institutions.* See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

Have credit transfer questions? Use Sophia’s free credit transfer service provided by Transferman.

Ask Transferman
No Credit Card Required

...OR GO AHEAD AND BUY IT NOW

You can get started for just $79 using our 3-part Payment Plan. Learn More
This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


Guaranteed to transfer to our partner colleges and universities.* See Partners

No Textbooks, Subscriptions or Hidden Fees

Everything you need to succeed is built right into our Sophia courses; there are no textbooks to buy, monthly subscriptions to pay for or any other added fees.

Free Trial & 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Sophia offers all of our students a free trial to make sure our courses are right for you. Sophia wants you to be completely satisfied with your learning experience. We offer a 30 day money back guarantee.

Payment Plan

We offer a 3 part payment plan option to provide flexibility and allow students to fit courses into their budget.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

You pick your start date and work at your own pace on your phone, tablet or computer.

Complementary Learning Coach Support

Call, email or live chat with our team of friendly and knowledgeable Learning Coaches.

Description

Course marketing page

Sophia's Introduction to Psychology course helps you understand the basic principles of psychology. You will study a variety of topics, including the brain, learning and memory, personality, social influence, child and lifespan development, and psychopathology. You will also have the ability to demonstrate the application of these psychology topics to everyday situations.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You'll complete 18 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 6 Milestone assessments (this are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Identify foundational philosophies, therapies, and specializations in the field of psychology
  • Analyze developmental psychology across the lifespan
  • Identify theories of personality and personality assessment
  • Articulate scientific research methodology and analytical approaches in the field of psychology
  • Articulate how brain and psychological factors impact mental health and behavior
  • Classify psychological disorders and impact on well-being

Reviews

Rating
607 Student Reviews
Rating
by Rachelle G. on December 3, 2019
Very hard course but loved it. Great class. Learned a ton.
Rating
by Maegan R. on December 2, 2019
The set up of this class was the best so far
Rating
by Antonio V. on December 2, 2019
Super helpful ! And was a lot of good content
Rating
by Regina R. on November 30, 2019
This course was very informative, intense and well worth the money!
Rating
by Kenneth P. on November 30, 2019
Excellent course! The knowledge I took from this will help me improve how I handle situations in my classes.
Rating
by lynn d. on November 28, 2019
I absolutely loved this course and its format. Thank you for a great experience.
Rating
by Shelbi C. on November 26, 2019
Very easy and interesting to go through.
Rating
by Melody R. on November 25, 2019
I actually liked this course, it was very informative, interesting, educational, and challenging. The tutorials helped very much so. And I liked the fact that you can save the pdf files to help you with your quizzes. Although the final milestone was very challenging because none of the questions were similar to the small milestones. Not only that but they give you less time for the a entire final milestone that they did with the single unit milestones. But overall I loved the experience in taking this class.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for tuition, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia courses are not eligible for most third party payment methods. Course tuition is paid by the student, using a credit or debit card. Tuition is due at the time of course registration. Sophia offers a payment plan option for course tuition.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included in the course tuition.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Introduction to Psychology FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required