Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Introduction to Sociology

Introduction to Sociology

Sophia's Introduction to Sociology course helps you gain mastery of the basic principles of sociology. In this course, you will learn a variety of topics, including sociological theory, cultural deviance, social interaction, diversity, stratification, education, technology, and health in modern society. You will also have the opportunity to demonstrate the application of these topics in sociology to everyday situations. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 37 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: Social Science

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


37 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Introduction to Sociology

Course Description
Sophia's Introduction to Sociology course helps you gain mastery of the basic principles of sociology. In this course, you will learn a variety of topics, including sociological theory, cultural deviance, social interaction, diversity, stratification, education, technology, and health in modern society. You will also have the opportunity to demonstrate the application of these topics in sociology to everyday situations.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 15 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 5 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course you'll be able to:

  • Identify foundational philosophies, theories, and methods in the field of sociology.
  • Apply principles of culture and deviance to real life scenarios.
  • Analyze social interaction and collective behavior in a real world context.
  • Identify and apply elements of diversity, stratification, and inequality in real life.
  • Analyze perspectives on elements of modern society.

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1524 Student Reviews
Rating
by Sheridan L. on May 30, 2019
I tried taking other Introduction to Sociology courses, but found them confusing as well as boring. However, this course made it fascinating! The website was easy to figure out and the progress lines were really helpful and encouraging. Also, I really liked how everything in this course was categorized into individual sections and easy to find. Zach Lamb was very clear and easy to understand as well as enjoyable to learn under! I really appreciated his teaching style and his ability to tie everything together and make correlations between various concepts. With this only being my first Sophia course, I must say it was fantastic! Thanks!
Rating
by Heather V. on May 25, 2019
Pretty straight forward, enjoyed the challenges. The milestones made you really search for the content. Completed in 3 days, working only a couple hours per day.
Rating
by Brooke H. on March 17, 2020
good course. But sometimes I felt as though the answers were worded differently than the options in the questions, taking it longer to complete milestones.
Rating
by James B. on May 5, 2020
Not a hard class.
Rating
by Michael Z. on May 31, 2020
Sophia's sociology course is amazing! The open-book course makes it really easy to pass. I finished this course in a day!
Rating
by Samantha M. on July 20, 2019
The best class I have ever taken at Sophia and I have taken a lot! Not only is this informative and relevant regardless of what area of study you are focusing on, it was organized so perfectly, easy to follow, engaging, and frankly, does not make you feel anxious about the course work and quiz questions! Sophia, make more courses like this one!
Rating
by Rachel F. on June 13, 2020
It did not take long to complete this course but it was challenging. I liked that the course added to some of the concepts that I learned in the psychology course. Although they were open book, the milestones were very challenging because the questions and answer choices provided were worded in a tricky manner, it made you really think hard about the correct answer, most of the time it seemed there could be two correct choices. The content was extremely relevant to society today and the layout was very user-friendly. I was able to complete this course with an overall 93% in two days.
Rating
by Debora B. on June 14, 2020
Although a few of the examples the instructors used were a little dated, I found this class over all to be well worth my time. What I enjoyed most is the option to view either instructors & receive two different explanations on the content. This was an enjoyable and informative class.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Introduction to Sociology FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required