Online College Courses for Credit

+

Online College Course

Visual Communications

Visual Communications

Sophia’s Visual Communications Pathway provides an introduction to basic concepts of visual design, helping you apply these concepts in context. In this Pathway, you will explore visual theories of communications and key elements and principles of design, with an emphasis on color, typography, and layout. In this Pathway, you will learn how to analyze a visual design and will understand the role that visual designs play in today’s society. Full Description

3 semester credits

  • 30 partners accept credit transfer.*
    See Partners
  • Sophia courses have been transferred for credit to over 300 institutions*. See the List
  • Recommend for credit to the ACE and DEAC college and university networks. (See below for details.)

Category: English and Communication

This course is ACE Credit® recommended for transfer to many different colleges and universities.* Learn more
This course is DEAC-approved as meeting the criteria for Approved Quality Curriculum (AQC) status. Learn more

Benefits


30 partners accept credit transfer.* See Partners

One Login, Everything You Need

You don't need any textbooks for our courses—we use video and text-based tutorials to teach the material.

Start Instantly

There is no need to wait for the first day of class; with Sophia you can sign up and instantly start your education.

Learning Built for Your Life and Your Schedule

Each course allows you to work at your own pace after work, on a break, or on the go. Access the course anytime, anywhere by phone, tablet, or computer.

Description

Visual Communications

Course Description
Sophia's Visual Communications course helps you gain an understanding of the essentials of communicating visually and to apply this understanding in context. In this course, you will explore visual theories and learn about the key elements and principles of visual design, with a focus on color, typography, layout, and design analysis. This course emphasizes real-world context and the role that visual communications play in today's society.

Assessments & Grading
This is a pass/fail course. You must complete 9 Challenge assessments (these are like quizzes) and 3 Milestone assessments (these are like tests) with an overall score of 70% or better.

Learning Outcomes
At the end of the course, you'll be able to:

  • Examine basic visual design concepts
  • Distinguish how color, type, & layout contribute to communication
  • Analyze the role of design in visual communications
  • Evaluate visual communication processes and products

Sophia's Many Ways™
This course provides you access to Sophia's Many Ways™ learning model. This model provides you with various instructional styles for each learning objective. With this unique model, you can find a method that appeals to your individual learning preference.

Reviews

Rating
1966 Student Reviews
Rating
by Jasmond B. on October 8, 2015
Some questions are extraordinarily subjective. Examples include questions that ask which visual design element is best demonstrated in a given picture. Such questions leaves the student to try to figure out what the writer of the course might've thought was the best visual design element. While I may like the color scheme, the writer may subjectively conclude that the color scheme is not the best design component. The course should include only objective components that can be objectively measured/assessed.
Rating
by Jordan B. on February 7, 2019
I've taken 10 courses on Sophia, and this one was the easiest. If you need some quick credits, take this course. It's fun and interesting too.
Rating
by Madeline M. on February 10, 2017
This class was fun and easy. I don't want to advocate "easy A's" but this would definitely be Sophia'a easiest class out of the 7 I've taken.
Rating
by Keith B. on October 25, 2015
I enjoyed the course but I have concerns about blatant errors I found in the pre-MIlestone quizzes, as well as several subjective questions that do not have any measurable criteria within the course; for example questions where more than one answer is acceptable. The concern is that if these are incorrect in the prep testing, are they correct in the milestones themselves? We cannot see exactly what we answered incorrectly, so we cannot validate whether an answer is correct or incorrect according to the materials presented.
Sophia replied on October 26, 2015

Hi Keith -- thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your successful course completions. Milestones are summative assessments that have been through extensive testing and validation. As always, we do welcome any concerns about course content sent to learningcoach@sophia.org. We look forward to seeing you in a future course!

— Mike F. | Sophia Learning Coach
Rating
by Thomas G. on January 8, 2019
Good course and not too difficult. Finished in just over a week (and I work a full time job).
Rating
by Nadiera M. on October 9, 2015
This was a very informative course. I have gained a new perspective on appreciating my surroundings.
Rating
by Christina M. on March 3, 2019
This is such a great way to speed up the graduation process. I was slated to graduate in 2020 but because I can take these online electives, I am reducing my time to graduate by 6-8 months. Great program for the busy, active, and professional adult learner!
Rating
by Susan O. on September 20, 2016
Pretty easy course but some of the tutorials are out of order from the questions. You have to search ahead a few times.

FAQ

  • Q: What does "Try it for Free" mean?

    A: The Free Trial allows you to access the course of your choice, or multiple courses. It gives you access to the first unit ("Challenge 1") in the course. This will let you meet the course instructors, sample the instructional content, and answer a set of assessment questions in the Challenge. You can also read the Student Guide and watch an Orientation Video to learn more about the course format, requirements, and resources.

    Any work you complete in the Free Trial is saved, so if you decide to register, you do not need to repeat it. Of course, we also let you reset it and start over if you wish.

  • Q: Does Sophia accept third-party payment for membership, such as financial aid or military benefits?

    A: Sophia is not a college or university and is not eligible for financial aid, military benefits, or other third-party payments. A Sophia membership is considered an out-of-pocket educational expense.

  • Q: When do the courses start and how long do I have to complete a course?

    A: You choose your own course start date and have 60 days from your chosen start date to complete each course. Sophia courses are self-paced, so many students complete a course in less than 60 days.

  • Q: Where do I get the textbooks for my course?

    A: You do not need any textbooks for Sophia courses. All material is taught by video and text-based tutorials that are in the courseroom, and are included as part of a Sophia membership.

  • Q: How am I graded in the course?

    A: Sophia courses are graded on a pass/fail basis, with 70% overall required to pass the course. Your score is based upon points earned in the formative assessments ("Challenges"), summative assessments ("Milestones"), and if applicable, the authentic assessments ("Touchstones"). Currently, our Foundations of English Composition, English Composition I, and Public Speaking courses contain Touchstones.

  • Q: How do I know which courses I should take?

    A: Consult with your academic adviser at your university to determine specifically which Sophia courses could fit into your program. You can download the course syllabus directly from our site to share with your school advisor.

  • Q: Are the tests proctored?

    A: Sophia courses utilize keyboard biometrics as an alternative to proctoring. No webcam is needed for a Sophia course.

  • Q: I'm taking a course where I have to submit Touchstones. How long does it take for my Touchstone to be graded once it's submitted?

    A: We provide our faculty graders with up to 7 business days to grade a Touchstone. The actual time may vary based on volume and grader capacity.

Oh no. Please don't go.

TRY INTRODUCTION TO Visual Communications FOR FREE!

No Credit Card Required